Name Mix-Up

What’s in a name! Everything! Our total identity. One little skew-up can cause big trouble. Like what happened this weekend to my designer Cristina because I screwed up. I use Money Gram to transfer her pay-checks. Her first name is the same as her mother’s, which is Maria. In Latin America they use both their father’s and their mother’s last name. Here is where I screwed up. I put her mother’s last name as her main last name! Why didn’t I react to the mix-up? Because I know her mother and I’m used to using her names!

Identity-theft is very common these days.  It’s good that companies are careful to verify names. Cristina went with her father last evening to pick up her money. One of the girls working at the office is his former student. But the computer doesn’t know that. It didn’t help! What were we to do so she could get her money? I went back to Walmart where I had sent the money. The lady at the Customer Service desk was very helpful. She cleared the name and typed the right one. I went back home and communicated this to Cristina. That didn’t help. Somehow the computer had kept her last name and put it in twice! Double blessing!!!

Once again I had to drive over to Walmart. I was happy to find the same lady at the Customer Service Desk. We thought of different options and finally agreed that the best thing would be to cancel the transaction and start all over. You know those 800 numbers that you call and get one automated message after another? That would have happened if I had called Money Gram, but she had special access! That just brings something to my mind that is the most precious thing I can think of. I have special access to the throne of God, in the name of Jesus! I don’t have to listen to any automated recording. I’m immediately transferred to the King of the Universe, my Savior!! Praise the Lord!

The lady managed to cancel my transaction and start over. It worked! As soon as the office in Lima opened Cristina was there and she got her money. What a hassle we had to go through just because I mixed up a name! One of the blessings of all this mix-up was that she had special time with her dad. He went with her to the Money Gram office and they had a long walk home, just father and daughter.

Nothing happens for no reason. Even this mix-up served a purpose. If nothing else, I will be VERY careful when I write people’s names. That reminds me of my little Sarah-girl. It was so special to be with her and her siblings this past weekend. She asked me many questions. One of them being about her mother’s names. Why had I named her Ruth Carina. Yes, why did I? One reason is that I wanted her to be like the Ruth of the Bible. And I think my girl is loving and generous like Ruth in the Bible.

Sarah also told me she doesn’t like boys. “But when I grow up I will have to like boys!” she said. Why? Well, how else is she going to get a husband? That is the reasoning of a five-year-old!

We had a family photo-shoot, the dad being the photographer. Here are some results. While he was photographing the kids I couldn’t help but take pictures of the trees in their fall “outfits”!

My cool grandkids

Fall 2013 the girls

Ft Gibbs fall

The 4 and I copy

COLE fAMILY 2013

These are my “two cents” for the day. I still sometimes get mixed up and forget that my daughter is not Lundquist anymore. If you ever send money overseas, be very careful to put the names exactly as they are! Thanks to a kind lady at Walmart the mix-up was cleared!

God bless all the helpful customer service people!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My grandchildren, My Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

