The Happy Results

Nov 23 2002

This day I celebrate four beautiful results from my daughter’s big day eleven years ago. Today is a very, very cold day. We have winter temperatures. On that day the sun was shining and we could walk around without sweaters or heavy coats.

My husband was so proud and happy to be walking his “baby” down the aisle. Hardly a year before we had a different kind of walk, when our steps were heavy on cemetery grounds. We buried our first-born. Now, with Carina’s wedding, we could look forward to new life. My husband had such a desire to be a grandfather. When that day came his health had started to decline, so he did not have much strength to enjoy his grandchildren before it was time for him to join his first-born in the land where joy never ends.

Now I am enjoying them for both of us!

I feel so blessed to have my daughter. We used to be such good friends, not that we’re not good friends now, but from that day eleven years ago someone else takes center stage. My daughter was “older” when she married. Dad tells me that he asked her one time if she didn’t want to have a boy-friend. “Why?” she said, “I have Mom!” I miss those days, but that is how life is. She has her hands full taking care of her family. I’m so proud of her. And her husband is a hard worker and takes good care of her and his children.

Psalm 127:3
Children are a heritage from the Lord, offspring a reward from him.

Proverbs 17:6
Children’s children are a crown to the aged, and parents are the pride of their children.

I hope the Lord gives me many more years to live, so that I can see my daughter’s children’s children. I hope I’ll be strong enough to baby-sit their babies. That’s one of my dreams! That’s what I tell my BFF Brianna, that I want to baby-sit her babies. She’ll tell me, “If you’re not too old then.”

Dreams and hopes help us stay strong and alive. These are just my “little” personal dreams. The big dreams have to do with what keeps me busy when I’m not busy with my grandchildren. My dream is that the lessons and stories I publish weekly will reach around the world to touch many boys and girls for eternity. Those will be the most happy results of my life.

When I open my blog to publish the weekly story-paper in Spanish I like to check from what countries people have visited the blog. Peru, Argentina, Colombia, Mexico… the list of Spanish-speaking countries went on and on this week. Then there was Madagascar, off the coast of Africa. What a blessing!

IMG_2115

May my daughter and her family enjoy many years together, with God’s blessings. When I sow my time and talents into the soil of what is dear to God’s heart, I do it expecting a harvest of blessings for those who are dear to my heart. I pray that they will reap a harvest because of their grandmother’s passionate work to reach boys and girls with the Gospel of Jesus Christ. That’s the heritage I want to leave them. But even if there wasn’t the least bit of “harvest,” the passion would be just as strong, because I’m doing it for Jesus.

Does this sound presumptuous to you? I hope not, because it’s a biblical principle. You can expect the same blessings in your life when you “sow” into the Kingdom of God. Read these Scriptures to boost your faith: 2 Corinthians 9:6-11; Galatians 6:9-10; Psalm 126:5,6; 1 Chronicles 4:10; Psalm 5:12; 1 Thessalonians 3:12.

When I talk about blessings I’m not thinking about money. The blessings I want for them are spiritual; that they grow into strong people of God. I pray that their love for God and others will increase and multiply. I pray that they will have tender hearts toward God.

I thank God for my daughter and her family. Eleven years ago my husband and I “gave her away.” I praise God for the “happy results,” and pray that I will be able to enjoy them for many years to come.

Happy Anniversary, Carina and Thom!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Family, My grandchildren and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

