Winter in December

We have been hit with a winter blast way ahead of time. I’m “sequestered” in my house by the beautiful white stuff. One of the most amazing things is when the sun shines on a bed of snow.  I can see that through my window as I’m writing. I’ve put together some of the pictures I took yesterday morning and this morning. On the bottom row, if you look closely, you can see little birds perched in the barren trees.

It’s amazing how my little camera captured them. I took the pictures through my window, looking over at the neighbors across the street, a couple of houses down. For me this is some kind of magic. Let’s not call it that! But it sure is amazing. It’s a Canon, PowerShot SD 1100 IS. I should get commission from the Canon people for all the promotion I do about this camera!

winter in decWhy did I take a picture of a DHL car? Do I want to promote their services? Let me give you a close-up and if you know me, or have been following my blogs, you’ll figure it out!

IMG_9666

This picture will help you with the “Mystery”!

kopia-av-p1060415

This is one of the world’s seven wonders! I can thank my sister Agneta and her husband Ola for this beautiful picture. They spent last Christmas as guides on a tour fo that amazing historical site.

Now, back to my “site”! Forgive me for sounding redundant. I need to stop talking about my somewhat rebellious feet. Just forgive me for this last time. I don’t want to mention them again, but this is to give a praise report.

The snow was too high for me to walk in. There was no way I could get out or even walk to the mail box. I used to shovel snow with no problem. But I can’t do it anymore. Well, God sent an angel to me. A young teenager came to my door and asked if he could shovel. He said he wanted to make money for St. Jude’s. That’s a hospital that treats children with cancer and they don’t charge the parents who can’t pay for the care. I support them! So this was a double blessing. For ten dollars this is what I got!

my driveway

I could hug that boy! Whenever it snows again, I hope he comes back! He even made me a little path so I can reach my mail box. The mail? It finally came last night close to 6 PM! About 6 hours late! And I got two beautiful Christmas cards. One with my loved ones from Fort Gibson and another that said Auntie Che on the envelope! That was from my oldest nephew here in the States and his family. I love to be called “Auntie”! It’s too seldom I hear that. My family is too scattered around the world.

My own Christmas cards? I have not even started! I might skip my tradition. Cristina and I are very busy preparing a series on Daniel for Vacation Bible School in the Southern Cone. I have my regular job to keep up with and now I’ve added a steady English publication. I’m thinking about sending cards for the New Year instead!

How does burning coals of fire sound after hearing about the snow and winter. There is a winter blast over most of the United States. Coals of fire could melt that quickly. But this is about heaping coals on somebody that treats you badly. Read the story and share it with the children in your life.

Go to my Royal Palm World Mission blog and find this Life-Application story for children.

www.MX1414.wordpress.com      Andy and the Coals of Fire

If you are caught in the “blast,” stay warm! Have a blessed weekend!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Photographs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

