Christmases Long Time Ago

I think there is a song about Christmases long time ago. Saturday evening I was reminiscing together with my grandchildren. We had a pajama party in their parent’s bedroom. How fun does that sound? Two on mattresses on the floor, one on a cot, and the other two of us on the bed! The parent had a night out!

It’s fun to lay in the dark and talk about stuff. The kids wanted me to tell about when I was a child and about their mother. One story was about the Christmas when I was seven years old. That’s one of those Christmases long time ago!

My parents were missionaries in Osorno, Chile. That year we had lost our home and the church building to a fire. I’m sure they did not have an abundance of money but the desire to do something for the children was there. They had rented an old bakery to continue the ministry.

AD_Osorno

Here it is. Now they were going to offer the Bread of Life in that building. They had a brilliant idea for the Christmas party. Why not cover the tree with toys? Nothing fancy, for as I said, they did not have very much money. But it was precious for the children at church. I remember that Christmas because of the toys in that tree and because I did a little mischief at home. I peaked in the present that had my name and lay under our tree! I guess I was too anxious to know what I would get for Christmas. It was a doll!

xmas in Chile 1953

You can visit my Royal Palm World Mission page and find a story about a Christmas doll. It’s a story I read in one of the magazines I subscribe to. I liked it and made it into a story for children, to show how the good we do comes back to us. Sometimes in such a drastic way as for the girl in the story, other times in different ways. But what we sow we harvest. We do good not because we are thinking of getting it back, but there is the sure law of sowing and reaping.

Every week there will be a new story. This Friday there will be another testimony turned into a story for children. I’m so thankful that the Lord has provided  a young couple that will help me get the stories ready in English.

Back to the kids! We survived our weekend. Brianna and I did a little Christmas shopping. She is the one that is always thinking about getting presents for the others.

I will do some stories in my blogs this week about those Christmases long time ago (at least that’s my plan!). My most happy ones were those when I was busy doing something for others. I’m very busy right now preparing stories and teaching materials for next year. It will be very special. Soon I’ll be announcing what I’m planning to do.

May you have a good week. May the presence of the Lord our Savior surround you and fill you with his joy and peace!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Christmas and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmases Long Time Ago

  1. This is really interesting. I too have written a piece on Christmas. Let me know your opinions in the comments!
    http://lukehastings.wordpress.com/2013/11/25/christmases-commercial-cold/

Leave a Reply

