The Best Christmas Present

This is going to be about Self! But I hope in a good way. I wrote yesterday that this Christmas I’m splurging on myself. Two electronic devices is almost too much. But they will simplify (or complicate) my life. We’ll have to see about that.

What I’m going to talk about is a most serious matter. I went to town because I had to deposit money for my artist in Costa Rica. That gave me some alone-time in the car to meditate. That’s when I realized that a new iPhone is nothing compared to the Christmas present I want to talk about.

Do you have the custom of giving yourself a present? The good thing about that is that you get exactly what you want! My mother’s Aunt Margit used to exchange any present she got. Her husband didn’t care what he picked, because, he said, “She is going to exchange it anyway!” You don’t have to do that if you pick your own present.

present myselfHave you had a difficult year? Have people stepped on your toes? Has somebody hurt your feelings? Has somebody hurt more than your feelings?

I’ve had some people pierce my heart. The hurt has brought tears to my eyes, but that is nothing compared to the hurt in my heart.

Here is what I meditated on during the drive to town and back. If I don’t forgive and forget the hurt, I will be causing myself more pain every day. The people who have hurt me have moved on. I don’t think they care one bit about me or my feelings.

I need to give myself the best Christmas present ever. I need to forgive! And I need to move on. One of the situations is still hurting very bad, because it has to do with things that are very dear to me.

“Jesus, I can’t do this without your help,” I was praying in the car. He has helped me in each one of the instances. And I know he will continue to help me.

It’s Christmas Eve. I have wrapped presents for each one in the family here. Since my daughter has married an American, she now follows the tradition of having gift exchange on Christmas morning.

The Swedish custom is to do it on Christmas Eve. I used to fix a very special breakfast on Christmas Eve morning. Then, in the evening, we would have our gift exchange.

Through God’s gift of Jesus he forgives and forgets. God can do anything. But he cannot remember the sins he has forgiven. How glorious is that?!

This is my suggestion. Give yourself the best Christmas gift possible. Let go of hurts and angry feelings. Don’t let people who have hurt you win. God gave his Son, Jesus, so we could receive forgiveness. Jesus, God’s Son, wants to help us to forgive.

It’s hard, you say. I know it’s hard! But unforgiveness is like a cancer that eats away our joy. Wrap you present of forgiveness in God’s love and grace. If you need to talk to the people who have hurt you, do it. If that’s not necessary then just forgive in your heart.

With Jesus’ help my best Christmas present is going to be forgiveness. I want to start the new year with a clean slate. I chose as a theme for this year “A Journey of Joy.” There have been quite a few bumps on the road, but the joy of the Lord has been my strength.

Thanks for hearing me out. May the love of God overwhelm you this Christmas and may the coming year bring you joy unspeakable, as you start out with the Gift of Forgiveness.

nacimiento

Thanks be to God for his
indescribable gift!

2 Corinthians 9:15

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Forgiveness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Best Christmas Present

  1. Pingback: The Greatest of These | The Online Toolbox

Leave a Reply

