God’s Perfect Timing

“When the time had fully come, God sent his Son…” Galatians 4:4

pesebre 1God has perfect timing. Have you ever experienced it in your own life? Has it amazed you? Today I had such an experience and was awed once more. We have such an amazing God that attends to even the smallest detail.

I’m working on a story for the New Year. I will do it in the three languages I know: Spanish, English and Swedish. Only a few times do I include Swedish because of time constraint. Apart from the story for children I write some short paragraphs for the teachers.

Here is what happened today!

My daughter and her husband took my car to the mechanic early for a check-up. Later in the morning she and I went to Lowe’s to look for a new dishwasher and refrigerator for me. Both of mine are old and are not working properly. I am 200 miles away from home, in another state, so I figured I would just look and then go to the store when I get home. But this is an amazing country.

I picked out what I wanted, the attendant called the store in Springfield closest to where I live and arranged for them to do the transaction. I even got to use my coupons! So when I get home they will deliver the appliances. To save $120 I will have to find someone to install the dishwasher for me or I will call my plumber and let him have the extra income.

Then we went to pick up my car. Two of the tires were worn and they suggested I change them. So I decided to do it right there and then, and had to wait for a while. That gave me some time to plan for the story and other projects.

Here is the part that is so neat! The tires got done and I headed home to my daughter’s. I listened to a sermon on the radio and the preacher gave me the most perfect illustration that fits excellently with my story. It couldn’t have been better!

This is what I call God’s perfect timing! For this to work out my daughter and her husband had to take the car at a special time in the morning, my daughter and I had to drive to town and get to the mechanic’s at other perfect hour. Then I had to decide to have the tires changed, and they had to do it at a just perfect time for me to be driving home just at the hour the radio program was on.

Let me fill you in on some more information. The story comes out next week, called “Each Day is a Gift.” What was so perfect on the radio? And idea to enhance the story and give it an application. Let’s say it like this:

Each day is a gift. You can either

  • use it or
  • lose it
  • spend it or
  • invest it

Our prayer needs to be:

Teach us to number our days, that we may gain a heart of wisdom.
Psalm 90:12, NIV

Little happenings like this one are very special to me. Not only in the big scope of things, like in sending his Son, does God do things “when the time is fully come,” but he intervenes in our circumstances in such perfect ways. It’s like laying a puzzle. He makes each little piece fit perfectly.

I praise God for another piece fitted together today in the puzzle of my life and ministry. The gift of this day has been very special.

God’s perfect timing works also in your life. Keep your eyes open and discover those little things that makes you stand in awe of our Lord and Creator.

Enjoy the last weekend of 2013!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Encouragement, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to God’s Perfect Timing

  1. Hi, my sweet sister. How are you. I too attend AG church and have been for years. I am going to begin the new year teaching spiritual maturity – introducing the beauty of a yielded heart. I hope you can join me at http://www.chrismalkemes.com

    God bless

Leave a Reply

