Investing for Eternity

As I mentioned in my previous blog, my theme word for 2014 is INVESTING. I’m investing for eternity, the only thing that really counts!

People invest in all kinds of things and especially when it comes to money. When the market plummets they go crazy. Some people have lost all their investments in one day. Others have made millions. But when they go, those millions stay.

When you invest in the Kingdom of God, the treasures are stored up in heaven, and nobody can steal them. That’s why Jesus recommended us to do so.

Matthew 6:19-21

“Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. 20 But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moths and vermin do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. 21 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

Let me tell you about “one of a kind” investment. It was definitely the smallest investment with the greatest results in the shortest amount of time. I’m talking about the five small barley loaves and the two small fish that a boy gave to Jesus, on a hill near the Sea of ​​Galilee. Have you ever stopped to think about the dividends of that investment? The boy wasn’t thinking about investments! I’m sure he just wanted to share his food with Jesus. See John 6:1-14.

Jesus nino almuerzo color

The Bible gives us the number of men who ate from the lunch Jesus provided thanks to the “investment” of the boy. 5,000 men; but surely there were also women and children partaking in that memorable dinner. Let’s make a conservative estimate, and say that for every man there was a woman and two children, making it 20,000.

They all ate and were satisfied, and the leftovers were 12 baskets full. I’m sure everyone ate at least the amount of the lunch the boy had brought for his snack: 5 loaves and 2 fish. Let’s multiply!

  5×20,000 = 100,000
2×20,000 = 40,000

One hundred thousand barley loaves and forty thousand fish!

Let’s do another conservative calculation. Let’s say two dollars for each dinner, which is very, very conservative. That gives us the sum of 40 thousand dollars. Amazing!

How do you think the boy felt when he saw the result of his little “investment”? Would he ever forget it? Just think of him later as a dad, and even later as a grandfather, telling his story. I’m sure he never tired of it. Maybe he wrote a book titled, “The day my investment went through the roof”.

I had a small amount of money saved for my retirement, and I’ve been keeping it “safe” in the bank. I say that I had because I’ve just invested it. I’ve put it in the safest hands, the hands of Him who can multiply it beyond measure. There is no better investment than to deposit it in the hands of Jesus.

The money deposited in the bank does no good. So I’ve committed my little savings to work for eternity. I’m excited to see what Jesus will do with it. What multiplication is there going to be?

I’m not expecting my bank account to fill up with dollars but I want my “loaves and fishes” to be transformed into children who enter through the narrow gate to the Kingdom of God.

The illustrated story for this month is about our ‘days’ as a gift from God. What are we doing with that gift? We can waste it or use it wisely; we can invest it or lose it.

God’s servant Moses prayed: Teach us to number our days, that we may gain a heart of wisdom” (Psalm 90:12, NIV).

Next week the story will be posted in MX1414.wordpress.com. Check out this week’s story about Sheyla and the miracles God did for her. It’s a testimony about an entire village that turned to Jesus. Everybody followed the Mayor’s decision to receive Christ as their Lord and Savior. Superb!

Will you invest for eternity? Give Jesus your

  • Love
  • Time
  • Treasure
  • Talents

 What exciting things will the Lord do?
Let’s wait and see!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in 2014 Year of the Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

