Blessed to be a blessing

I’m inspired and I want to inspire. God has blessed me, not so I can horde his blessings but to share them. I read this week the prayer of Jabez, and remembered the first time I prayed “his” prayer:

1 Chronicles 4:10 (NIV)

Jabez cried out to the God of Israel, “Oh, that you would bless me and enlarge my territory! Let your hand be with me, and keep me from harm so that I will be free from pain.” And God granted his request.

I couldn’t imagine at that time what the answer was going to look like. I knew it would come through God’s grace, but not in what shape or form. The only thing I knew was that I wanted to spread His Word through the lessons God had allowed me to write.

This was 15 years ago! Now I am uploading stories and teachings almost daily on the web, and I’m not working alone. I even have people working “for” me. As a matter of fact, while I’m writing these words, my assistant in Peru, Cristina, is making a plaque to illustrate this blog. God has surely enlarged my territory!

One of the reasons I have cut down on writing blogs here is because of that “blessing.” I have to keep up with all my Spanish ministry blogs, do my  translation job for orphans so I can “bless” those who work with me, and keep the works schedule moving. It sure is true what many seniors discover. I’m busier than ever. I would very much appreciate your prayers!

I pray to be a blessing so I can bless others. That thought is what I would like to inspire you with today. This is what God said when called Abraham:

“I will make you into a great nation,
and I will bless you;
I will make your name great,
and you will be a blessing.
I will bless those who bless you,
and whoever curses you I will curse;
and all peoples on earth
will be blessed through you.”
(Gen 12:2,3)

Later this year we will talk more about blessing and blessings. I have dedicated one month in the program “Year of the Home” to speak about blessings in the home. This is just a “sneak peak.” Today I will meditate on these words and I encourage you to do the same:

BtoB.eng1

The Bible is full of blessings. We understand by reading God’s Word that He wants to bless us. I believe the blessing encompasses every area of our lives. If God blesses you financially, bless others, especially so God’s Word can be preached around the world. Are you blessed with good health? Take good care of your body and use it to glorify God! Has God blessed you with a family of your own? Bless your children and teach them to serve God.

I could go on and on. God blesses us in different areas so that we may be a blessing. I remember a song from my youth that went like this, “Make me a blessing to someone today!”

Let’s make that our prayer:

“Make me a blessing to someone today!”

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Blessings in Christ and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blessed to be a blessing

  1. Yes to make somebody happy and encourage to move on ingrace with joy and do not worry about nothing instead be victorious and blessing inJesus name thanks and bless and pray,keijo sweden

Leave a Reply

