A Woman to be Praised

Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting;
    but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.
Proverbs 31:30

The woman I want to honor and praise with this blog is my daughter. The Book of Proverbs says that a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised. First of all I want to praise God for giving me a daughter who is to be praised.

It seems like the years have flown by so quickly since I had the little bundle of joy in my arms for the first time. Any mother will understand me when I say it was joy unspeakable.

I was all by myself, in a hospital some 75 miles away from home, in a mining town in Peru at 12,000 ft above sea level. Because of the kindness of the administration, they treated us there because we were missionaries. It was amazing that we were treated for free. God knew we had no money to pay for any medical bills, so he gave us favor in that hospital. And he touched the heart of one of the nurses so she made a phone call to send word to my husband that he had another daughter.

We are spoiled today with all the technology and the cell phones. I wrote a blog in 2010 about this experience (January 19) and called it The Loneliest Day of my Life. It was lonely. This my daughter’s birthday is going to be lonely again because I can’t be with her.

I have memories of this girl being very attached to her mother. She was extremely shy. She would rely very much on her older sister to speak for her. And I had to do it many times, too. No wonder I am so proud of her today, how she has developed into this woman of God described in Proverbs 31.

Talking to my dad and his wife they told me they had counted to 29 great-grandchildren, with the 30th on the way. Four of them he counts from my daughter and her family. Dad’s clan is multiplying like it speaks about in the Bible.

Nothing gives me more joy than to honor my daughter on one more birthday and praise God and thank him because she is a woman who fear the Lord. I pray that God will continue to hold his hand upon her, to keep her as the apple of his eye, to hide her in the shadow of his wings,  to surround her with his favor as with a shield.

Happy birthday to my precious and wonderful daughter, truly a gift from God, a gift that has given me four gorgeous grandchildren.

If you have a daughter or a son who is a champion for God you will understand me. What do all the riches of the world profit if a person loses her soul? Nothing matters more than to know that we are on our way to heaven.

Carina and I have her dad and her big sister waiting for us in our eternal home. When we have completed our job on earth our little family will be united again in a place where there will be no sickness, no sorrow, no death; nothing to separate us. God himself will wipe our tears, and then there will be no more tears.

What a privilege we have. How can we ever praise God for a Christian heritage?! The best we can do is to pass it on. Blessings for Carina on this her day. Blessings for her husband and blessings for her children. I hope she will have many more years to serve God and her family. Many more years to brighten my life and to fill my heart with joy.

Happy birthday my precious Carina!

Carina momMy bundle of joy

CarinaTeleWe had our first phone when visiting Sweden

Carina 1One of my favorite pictures of my girl

The Studio Picture

The Studio Picture

Carina’s 15th birthday, with special meaning in South America

Carina DavidMy girls with her first bundle of joy at her sister’s graveside

13 Carina?? years ago we celebrated our teenager in Bolivia, Swedish style, with presents in bed in the morning

Carina has new traditions now. She’s an American!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

