The Difference between Chili y Cinnamon

What is the difference between chili and cinnamon? Try it and you will see!

This morning I felt a cold coming on. My nose was itching. So I went to the kitchen cabinet where I have a very good home cure: honey and cinnamon. I did as I always do. I mixed cinnamon in my honey and took a big spoonful. It tasted strong. I wondered what had happened to the cinnamon. Nothing at all! I had just taken the wrong bottle. I had mixed chili-powder in my honey!

So I got out the “real” cinnamon and took some more honey and lots of cinnamon. It seems to have worked fine, because I’m feeling better. Maybe that combination did the trick!

Here are some things I believe in for home remedies: ginger, garlic, lemon, honey, cinnamon, onions… and now I’ll add one more thing to the list: chili pepper.

Cure for Colds

Yesterday I was worried all day about my assistant Cristina. She reported at 9.00AM with a note through her cell-phone and then everything was quiet. No answer on Skype. Not until the evening did we connect. The problem? The light went off with no warning. Everybody in the neighborhood spent the day outside because it was too hot to be inside with no possibilities to put on any fans. Those things happen!

Unexpected things happen all the time one way or another. This might also come under that category. Last weekend, as I was planning for my stories to publish, I thought of an idea to illustrate Psalm 23. The pictures are meant for children to color and at the same time to memorize the Psalm. So this week Cristina has put it all together. Unexpected idea with unexpected result! We will have everything in English but Spanish comes first and we are working on it. Let me give you one of the pictures and the words to go with it.

sal23-4color

He refreshes my soul

There is a big difference between chili and cinnamon. But there is no difference in how God, the Shepherd, cares for his sheep. He loves us all the same. I think the difference lies in how we let him love us. Some people don’t accept his love.

Will you let the Good Shepherd lavish his love on you?  

Be refreshed by reading the entire psalm. God bless you!

Psalm 23, NIV

A psalm of David.

The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing.
    He makes me lie down in green pastures,
he leads me beside quiet waters,
    he refreshes my soul.
He guides me along the right paths
for his name’s sake.
Even though I walk
through the darkest valley,[a]
I will fear no evil,
for you are with me;
your rod and your staff,
they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me
in the presence of my enemies.
You anoint my head with oil;
my cup overflows.
Surely your goodness and love will follow me
all the days of my life,
and I will dwell in the house of the Lord
forever.

 

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Encouragement and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

