Stepping into the Water

I have written a “Praise Marathon.” I don’t know what else to call it. It’s a walk through Memory Lane to praise God for his faithfulness.

This winter is taking its toll. Today is the third Sunday the walls are caving in on me. Because of the extremely cold weather my feet get stiff and very painful, so I just stay inside. If the weather predictions are true, next Sunday will have a temperature above freezing. I miss going to God’s House.

My neighbor from across the street has taken on a kind gesture. She brings the mail from my mailbox every day. “Knock, knock, knock… the mail!” Such kindness!

My Sundays are now filled with Dante Gebel, a very dynamic Argentine pastor from California. He preaches every Sunday across from Disneyland and all the messages are streamed online. I’ve got almost 300 of his videos to listen to. To keep track of what I listen to I’ve started on number one! How amazing to be listening to preaching on the computer! At the same time that I’m worshiping Jesus, I’m practicing Spanish so I can better serve my Spanish audience.

This was a long introduction for my question of the week. Have you ever stepped into the water? Obviously, I’m not talking about going swimming or the likes. I’m referring to a step of faith, like what Joshua and his people had to take to cross the Jordan into the Promised Land.

step into the water(Picture “doctored” from an African river and
South Missouri skies)

After wandering in the desert for 40 years, Joshua and all the Israelites were ready to cross the Jordan. But, how? This was a company of millions! No boat available for such a crowd!

Joshua told the people, “Consecrate yourselves, for tomorrow the Lord will do amazing things among you.”

For the great march across to the Promised Land the priests would carry the ark of the covenant. God tried their faith and commanded that they step into  Jordan’s waters, and go and stand in the river.

“Step into the water,” was the divine order. They could have come up with all kinds of objections and excuses. How about the force of the waters? It was harvest time and the Jordan was at flood stage. They just had to exercise their faith. They had to be willing to get their feet wet.

Here’s the miracle! As soon as the priests who carried the ark of the Lord set foot in the Jordan, the waters flowing downstream were cut off and piled up in a heap. The priests stood on dry ground, while all Israel passed by until the whole nation had completed the crossing on dry ground.

Read the story in Joshua 3.

I’ve seen this principle work since childhood. My dad was a faith-filled missionary. He would start a building project and as long as he kept going, God would supply the needed funds to finish it. God even stopped the rain during the day-time so the builders could do their job. This happened in Tarma, Peru when he was building the church. It was rainy season, when it usually rained every day, but that year it only rained at night. Not one day did they have to stop the work!

I’m stepping into the water, figuratively speaking. Somebody wrote me, “Let’s hold off until after the summer so you have time to raise funds.” It can’t work that way. I know that as I step into the water, the funds will come. At least that’s what I believe!

Let me encourage you. Is God speaking to you about something he wants you to do? Are you faltering, wondering how it will come to pass? Be bold like Joshua and the priests that carried the ark of the covenant. Step out in faith. Move ahead. You’ve got the whole counsel of God on your side. You can carry the entire library of History, Prophesy, Poetry, Gospel and Revelation in the palms of your hands. There are Bibles that can fit in your shirt pocket. Big or small they all contain the same promises.

“Truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you” (Matthew 17:20).

 I wish you a wonderful week of stepping out in faith into waters of victory!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stepping into the Water

  1. Dawn says:

    This is just what I needed to read and hear. Thank you for sharing such beautiful words of faith and hope! I am believing with you.

Leave a Reply

