Daniel’s Resolve not to Defile Himself

I have to give an update. I wrote yesterday about a comment I received on my Spanish web site, about somebody discovering the lessons. I wrote an email asking the person where she was from. This is so amazing! She is from Puerto Montt in southern Chile.

What’s so special about that? When I was seven years old I rode the train to Puerto Montt, all by myself from Osorno. It’s two hours distance it says when I look it up online. Might have taken longer by train.

My dad confirmed it this morning that my memory was true, but we can’t remember why I went. I must have gone to visit someone. And now there are people in Puerto Montt that will be hearing the Gospel through the ministry the Lord allows me to be a part of.

DAN02_co

Here is something else amazing. The stories I’m working on right now are about four teenagers that were taken captive to Babylon. In the midst of a pagan culture they stood firm in their conviction not to defile themselves.

But Daniel resolved not to defile himself with the royal food and wine, and he asked the chief official for permission not to defile himself this way. Daniel 1:8

God led me to ask a mother of four teenage boys in Bolivia to write the lessons. I didn’t think about it at the time but realized tonight how perfect God’s ways are. She wrote me a very moving question, one that I think every parent needs to ask.

“Am I training/ teaching my children so they can face the lions’ den?”

I’m praying God will use the lessons to raise up a generation of young men and women that will decide not to defile themselves! We need young people who stand firm in their conviction of serving God.

Six years ago I was crying, battling cancer, grieving my husband’s death, crying out to God that he would let me live. I had three small grandchildren and I wanted to tell them of God’s marvelous works. And I prayed that he would let me proclaim his wonders to the next generation.

God heard my plea and he put in my heart to publish on-line teaching materials for those who don’t have access to bookstores. When Jesus walked on earth he said “You will always have the poor with you.” He said to me, “Don’t forget the poor!” It’s an honor for me to target the people with fewer resources.

God gave me a special word today:

Psalm 41:1-3 Blessed are those who have regard for the weak;
the Lord delivers them in times of trouble.
The Lord protects and preserves them—
they are counted among the blessed in the land—
he does not give them over to the desire of their foes.
The Lord sustains them on their sickbed
and restores them from their bed of illness.

When it reads “regard for the weak” it is talking about the poor.

This is what Jesus said:

Luke 4:18,19  “The Spirit of the Lord is on me,
because he has anointed me
to proclaim good news to the poor.
He has sent me to proclaim freedom for the prisoners
and recovery of sight for the blind,
to set the oppressed free,
19     to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor.”

Jesus needs to be exalted. I’m praying that God will raise up young people who have the determination that the four Hebrew boys had, even as they were taken from their homes and their country. They stood firm in their devotion to God.

Continue supporting me in prayer. The lessons are being prepared also in English. They can go around the world to inspire young people, to be determined not to defile themselves, but to live holy lives.

Are you and I determined not to defile ourselves? Hebrews 12:14

Be holy; without holiness no one
will see the Lord.

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Encouragement and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

