A Most Tragic End

Yesterday we had a story of triumph!  King Jehoshaphat  praised God and the people of Judah won a great victory. How tragic that his son did not follow in his footsteps!

When Jehoshaphat “rested with his ancestors,” as the Bible describes his death, Jehoram his son succeeded him as king. Jehoram had six brothers. Jehoshaphat had given them many gifts, but the kingdom he gave to Jehoram, his firstborn son.

Sadly, Jehoram did not follow the good example of his father. When he has established himself firmly over the kingdom, he killed all his brothers. He was thirty-two years old when he became king, and he reigned in Jerusalem eight years.

Read about him in 2 Chronicles 21.

I will not go into details, but to mention his most tragic end. “Jehoram passed away, to no one’s regret, and was buried in the City of David, but not in the tombs of the kings.”

To no one’s regret!

I’ve been going over those words over and over since I read them early this morning. “To no one’s regret!” How tragic!

His brothers he had killed. But his wife and children… did they not miss him? No one regretted his death!

How are we living? Will we be missed when our day comes to leave this world? Or will there be a sign on our tombstone: NOT MISSED!

I hope I will be missed; that I have made a difference during my pilgrimage on earth. Most of all I hope I will be welcomed in Heaven!

This will be it for now.

Live in such a way that you will be missed on Earth and welcomed in Heaven.

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Encouragement and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

