A Widow’s Love Offering

This past week there has been an outpouring of love for a family struck by unthinkable tragedy. On Tuesday afternoon a 10-year-old girl went to play with her neighbor friend and was abducted and killed. Thanks to some observant neighbors the offender was soon apprehended and the girl’s body found in his basement. Sadly, such crimes happen daily in different places, but this happened here, in our town. It happened close to where I live!

People have been showing their support in different ways. I saw on the news some waiters that gave all their tips. Last night there was a candle light vigil with 10.000 in attendance; this afternoon the “bikers” are having a rally. I heard bikers are coming from different states to participate. My neighbor from across the street is one of them.

Purple and pink were the little girl’s favorite colors. To show support people have been wearing those colors. I just realized the picture I’m using for this blog has one of those colors, but it was not planned. Marcia, a friend that helps me color pictures, chose the colors. When she was working on the picture I got the idea for what I’m going to write now.

widow more.

Mark 12:41-44 (NIV)

The Widow’s Offering

41 Jesus sat down opposite the place where the offerings were put and watched the crowd putting their money into the temple treasury. Many rich people threw in large amounts. 42 But a poor widow came and put in two very small copper coins, worth only a few cents.

43 Calling his disciples to him, Jesus said, “Truly I tell you, this poor widow has put more into the treasury than all the others. 44 They all gave out of their wealth; but she, out of her poverty, put in everything—all she had to live on.”

The widow’s gift was small
But Jesus said that she gave more.
She gave more than all the others
Because this widow gave it all!

Have you ever given such an offering? I haven’t! Most of the time we give out of our abundance. And I’m sure most people supporting Hayley’s family this past week have given from their abundance. The widow put everything into the temple treasury—all she had to live on!

Jesus gave it all on Calvary. He left heaven’s glory to be my Savior, your Savior. He is worth more than our offerings. Jesus is worth our time, our talents, our treasures, our love. May we listen when the Holy Spirit speaks in his tender voice. May our hearts be willing to give it all. It’s not the size of the gift that matters, it’s the size of the heart who gives it.

Let’s give our all to Jesus!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Generosity, Money and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

