Turning Back the Clock

People are obsessed with the thought of turning back the clock. I just learned what this expressions means. People want to look younger, stay young,

How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are? I feel like I’m twenty! Not a day older. But my body doesn’t agree with that. Aging is sneaking up on me. It’s a difference like night and day the things I could do ten years ago when my first grandchild was born. It pains me immensely but I don’t have the same energy anymore. This is life. Our bodies waste away. But my spirit is strong! PTL!

People are looking for the fountain of youth. I found it but it went dry!

There was this man who was told to put his house in order because he was going to die. He didn’t want to die. He wept bitterly. And he asked God if he would give him more time. That’s when God did the miracle of turning back the clock! Literally!

Read these words about King Hezekiah:

Isaiah 38:1-9

In those days Hezekiah became ill and was at the point of death. The prophet Isaiah son of Amoz went to him and said, “This is what the Lord says: Put your house in order, because you are going to die; you will not recover.”

Hezekiah turned his face to the wall and prayed to the Lord, “Remember, Lord, how I have walked before you faithfully and with wholehearted devotion and have done what is good in your eyes.” And Hezekiah wept bitterly.

Then the word of the Lord came to Isaiah: “Go and tell Hezekiah, ‘This is what the Lord, the God of your father David, says: I have heard your prayer and seen your tears; I will add fifteen years to your life. And I will deliver you and this city from the hand of the king of Assyria. I will defend this city.

“‘This is the Lord’s sign to you that the Lord will do what he has promised: I will make the shadow cast by the sun go back the ten steps it has gone down on the stairway of Ahaz.’” So the sunlight went back the ten steps it had gone down.

The sunlight went back ten steps! And God granted Hezekiah fifteen more years.

We can’t turn back the clock. The years that have gone by are gone. Do I regret the time past? No, I’m happy that I’ve served the Lord since I was a child. But, of course, I wish I’d done it better! I hope I have some treasures stored up. I want to hear his “Well done!”

One thing I’m very happy about is that the days of this past winter are almost gone. It’s been cold and painful; but I have thanked God so much for having a warm place to live. I’ve thought very much about the homeless; people who have to look for shelter in the bitter cold.

Sunday was a cold day. Church services were cancelled because of the icy condition. I had the most amazing day! Not in a long time have I felt so good. I spent the entire day listening to preaching by Dante Gebel. It was so good I finally had to make myself stop at one in the morning!

Monday morning the sun was shining brightly on a gorgeous cover of snow. Here are my foot-steps as I put the garbage by the curb.

To the garbage

All winter I’ve had onions sitting by my work-station. It’s amazing how the green has been growing on them. I saw it in the evenings, how they grew! Someone said that onions keep you from getting a cold, but they don’t help against getting cold (I mean freezing cold). Try the onion thing! It works!

My onions

I don’t know if you enjoyed the Winter Olympics. I enjoyed the figure skating every evening. Here are some pictures I took from the closing ceremony (I didn’t fly there with my camera but photographed the TV-screen). As I was watching I turned back in time, remembering how it was when the iron curtain was up and there was strong persecution of Christians. I used to pray and promote prayer for the persecuted Church in Russia. It was almost unreal to watch the Olympics and think about how things have changed.

Olympics

Somebody who will wish many times over that she could turn back the clock is the mother of a ten-year-old girl who was brutally murdered where I live. It’s amazing how people rallied in support of the family, remembering Hailey. Ten thousand people turned up for candle-light vigil on one of the streets where I live. Then the bikers had a fundraiser with a ride around town.

Hailey

Here’s something fun. A girl who hadn’t cut her hair for many years got a make-over on the Rachel Ray show. She wasn’t looking to turn back the clock to look younger, but she wanted to look older, because people would think of her as a little girl. She had hair down to her waist and more.

I saw this cut

This is my contribution for the day. Are you wanting to turn back the clock? If you live in the USA you will have to turn the clock ahead one hour on Sunday. Tomorrow we’ll have some thoughts on the man who received the sign of the ages. The clock turned back! Not only in his wishes but really. And he was given 15 more years to live. After my bout with cancer I asked God for 20 more years.

Be happy! Stay young!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Encouragement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

