When the Flowers were Born

I got the most romantic birthday greeting a girl can get from her father: “The day you were born all the flowers were born. My heart was filled with joy when I saw you. I am so happy that you are my daughter…”

This greeting filled me with so much joy I can’t even describe it. What a privilege to still have a dad. I can’t thank God enough. I also thank him for having had a husband who loved me very much. This is what he wrote me for one of my birthdays: “Happy birthday my wonderful wife! Here is a little gift. I would have waned to put the world at your feet. I love you very much! I don’t need anything. Everything is for you and the girls. I am willing to give my life for the three of you.”

This is 2014. When I turned 14, my parents had managed to rent a space for a weeks vacation. This was in Peru. They had a very meager missionary salary, so it was a miracle, especially with our big family. On my birthday we went to a place where they put the date on the ground every day. Maybe they still do that in Lince, Lima, Peru. My contribution was that I did the cooking that week, so it was a vacation for my mother.

Kerstin Bday 1960On my birthday, holding my brother Lars

My assistant Cristina is on vacation in the jungles of Peru. What a surprise when a got a call from her! She had to travel one and a half hour to get to place from where she could call! Where she is staying they only have electricity between 7 and 9 in the evenings. When she gets back and shares pictures with me I will post some here. She’s visiting one of her friends from school, a girls who always wanted to marry a “gringo.” She got her wishes, because she is now married to an American missionary.

What an exciting week this has been so far! Let me tell you a testimony from Tuesday evening. I had a long talk on the phone with a friend who needed to “unload” her heart. That’s how we express it in Spanish. Is it okay to say so in English? I don’t know!

This “girl” came by our church in Huancayo, Peru, when she was 11 years old. She saw many children inside and was curios. She sat down to listen. I was telling a story using my television (see the picture below, where also my dad is). It was a story about a farm and a fire. A mother hen covered her little chicks. When the fire was over the farmer found a burned and charred hen. Guess what was under her wings? Little chicks, alive and well, protected under the wings of their mother. With this story I illustrated how Jesus gave his life for us. Well, at the end I made an invitation to receive Christ. This girl gave her life to the Lord. It was not easy for her, because her parents were not happy that she had gone to the evangelical church. They were Catholics. She persisted, and 11 years later her mother received Jesus as her Savior.

My television

Here is a picture from a Vacation Bible School this friend had this year. I’m so touched that I was chosen to be a channel for her salvation. I can’t thank the Lord enough. I liked stories back then, I like stories now. This week I published story 220 on my misperlitas.wordpress.com page! I pray God will use those stories to open many children’s hearts to his love.

EBV

This is how I hope my stories will reach many children. Years ago I had a wooden television that my dad made for me. I pasted pictures on long strips of paper and rolled them on sticks. I would turn the sticks and the pictures would appear. The kids were delighted.

Sorry to interrupt my story, but it’s time for lunch break. My friend Marcia, who also helps in the ministry, is here with me today. She had her birthday in January. We will now celebrate with lunch at Panera. I’m going to have broccoli  soup and a sandwich.

Are you a father? Make your daughter happy by writing some romantic words to her. I am beyond impressed by what my father wrote me today, that when I was born all the flowers were born. I’m sure he feels the same way about my sisters.

Later I will check my Facebook account and read the greetings posted by friends. We come naked to the world, with nothing in our hands. Everything we have is a gift. The most precious gift are family and friends. Let’s appreciate each other. I appreciate YOU very much. Thanks for being one of my blog-readers!

On March 6, 1946 all the flowers were born! Here are some of them!

INKA Orange flowers

Flowers

flower1

flower decorations

Peru flowers 2

Flowers2

sun flower

 

 

 

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

