International Women’s Day

God has given me the privilege to be a woman. When I was a young missionary some preachers wanted to make me believe that my ideas and my vision would be something great if it had come from a man, but it was “sad” that it came from a woman.

I’m glad I didn’t listen to them. I’m glad God chose me for his service “despite” the fact than I was a woman. Things have changed for the better, but not with everyone. I even have to contend with someone in my immediate family that doesn’t believe in women preachers.

It is not my dad. He has always believed in me, and the last few years he has been helping me type all my teachings to put them on the web. The web is my pulpit.

My husband believed in me. He supported me one hundred percent. In fact, I’m sure the ministry I’m leading today is a result of his prayers! He took it to heart when I was misunderstood and his prayer the last few years of his life was continually that I would be re-vindicated. Things that had happened didn’t bother me very much, but they bothered him. How I wish he could see me today!

celetrate

They say that for every great man there is an even greater woman.

I’d like to turn it around and say that for every great woman there is a great man.

The bottom line is that we need each other, and we don’t function one without the other.

I wrote on my birthday how impressed and uplifted I felt because of my dad’s words, that when I was born all the flowers were born. I needed a man to validate me. If you’re a man, say some uplifting words to a woman in your life. If you have daughters, tell them how precious they are to you.

The women behind great men
All though history there has been praise given to heroes. Those heroes were brought to the world through pain, by a woman. The faithful nurturing of a woman raised them. And most of them had a supporting woman by their side through thick and thin. But most of the time there is no mention of those women.

Moses, the great liberator of the children of Israel from the slavery in Egypt, had four significant women in his life.

Jochebed, his mother, believed in him from the start. She risked her life in saving his! She went against the Pharos’s command of putting boy babies to death.

Miriam, his sister, risked the disapproval of the Princess when suggesting a nurse for the baby. Eighty years later she led the women in a victory song when they had crossed the Red Sea (Ex 15:20-21).

The Egyptian Princess adopted Moses as her own son. He got a royal upbringing, at the same time that he received the nurturing of his birth mother.

Zipporah, his wife, supported Moses. Read a supportive action in Exodus 4:24-26.

These were the four great women behind the great liberator Moses!

How many times do we hear an ovation for Noah’s wife? We hail Noah for building the ark, but he had his woman by his side. I’m sure she had to encourage him many times to not give up the ominous project of ark-building!

Sarah, the princess and mother of the people of Israel, followed her man across deserts and mountains all the way to the land of Canaan. Had it not been for Sarah there would not be an Isaac! (Talk about having sex in old age!) At 90 years of age she became a first-time mother!

Here is another woman! We don’t know her name, and we often criticize her for telling Job, the man who lost everything in a day, to curse God and die (see Job 2:9). But she stood by her man, and remember that she had the same losses. She was a grieving mother. But at the end she had new children and the most beautiful daughters in the land.

Samuel had a praying mother. He was an answer to prayer!

Joash, the child king, was saved by a woman: Jehosheda ( 2 Chron 22:11).

Timothy learned to trust God from his mother and his grandmother.

Peter. His wife went with him on his travels (1 Cor 9:4-6).

I honor all the faithful women who work behind the scenes. They might never get recognition. Jesus had women working behind the scenes. He and his disciples were in the forefront, but there were women attending to their needs. That way they could concentrate on the teachings and the miracles. These women supported Jesus out of their own means. (Luke 8:1-4)

I had a man tell me once: “I order you in the name of Jesus to be quiet!” He didn’t want me preaching.

God called me to preach. The two main men in my life have supported me every step of the way: my father and my husband. Those preachers that said it was a shame my ideas were a women’s ideas were put to shame. God is no respecter of persons. I have moved ahead in life fulfilling my calling, and I now celebrate 50 years of ministry!

God looks for willing people, be they men or women. I’m willing to give my life to preach the Gospel. I’m using words… lots of words.

This day I celebrate that God made me a woman!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in For Women and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

