14 April 2014

Good morning! Good afternoon! Good evening! It all depends where you are or what time you’re reading this. Some will write the date like I’ve put it here; others will write it 4-14-14. Whatever, it’s still the same day. In the middle of April. And if you live in the States, tomorrow is the deadline to file the tax returns. Procrastinators will be scrambling to get it done!

This is the most wonderful week of the year, when we remind ourselves of the sacrifice our Savior did for us on the Cross. Cristina and I have been working hard these last few weeks preparing lessons and crafts to celebrate Easter. The materials are in Spanish but I have translated some to English. It’s hard to get everything done because the 24 hours a day, are just that: 24 hours! Try as hard as I may, I can’t fit more than 24 in 24. Can you?

Do you remember some nine month ago that I wrote about a dead plant at Cristina’s house? I encouraged her to water it and see what would happen. As the months went by we followed an amazing growth. There is something special about this plant because it was a gift to her mother from a friend, but sadly the friendship had died, just like the plant.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There is resurrection power in nature. A seed has to die for it to grow into new life. I was reminded of this in my morning Bible-reading.

 Very truly I tell you, unless a kernel of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains only a single seed. But if it dies, it produces many seeds. John 12:24

These are the words of Jesus. He was talking about himself just a few days before it happened. He died so that we could have new and eternal life. But death could not hold its grip on him. Jesus came back to life!

Cristina has been watering the plant faithfully. And she has taken pictures to document the miracle of new life.

Llama plata

I hope this can be a vivid picture of what God can do, in any situation. Even a dead friendship can come to life! Today the plant is vibrant and growing.

IMG_0016

Is there a dead area in your life? Are some relationships dead? Does it feel hopeless? There are no hopeless cases for God. He is the giver of life. He can resurrect the dead! Put your “dead” situation in his powerful hands and watch how new life will spring forth. Praise the Lord!

Have a wonderful and blessed “Holy” week! That’s what it is called in Spanish: Semana Santa–Holy Week. May you experience God’s power in your life as never before. Jesus is the Way, the Truth, and the Life. He is the only way to the Father.

Let Jesus bring forth new life in you!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Easter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

