My Easter Celebration

These are my four favorite kids in all the world! I wish I could have been with them to celebrate Easter, but it was not meant to be.

Easter 2014 The Kids

The week had been lonely and stressful. In fact, I wrote my dad that it had been my loneliest ever. That was to my earthly father. I guess my Heavenly Father figured I needed something to cheer me up. I count what happened to me today a ift from God. The day ended with a movie. That would have been totally unheard of fifty years ago, at least as I was brought up.

I went to church. The message was about forgiving ourselves. I tried to think of something I haven’t forgiven myself for, but my memory is rusty. Praise the Lord it is taken care of–I give it to Jesus. What I constantly have to work on is forgiving others. I’m sure we all have those battles!

After church there was a fun Easter activity for the children.

Candy Hunt Faith AG

Lunch at Taco Bell

Easter lunch for $2.30 is a good deal. It’s starting to be a regular practice to have a been burrito and some nachos at Taco Bell. It’s close to church and no rush of people. I can sit and meditate without stress. When I was meditating, the idea came about going to the movies. There was no church service in the evening.

I had been wanting to see the movie Heaven is for Real. Since I’m not a movie goer it took me some time to figure out where to go and at what time. I ended up getting information from Springfield 11. Since I had two hours to “kill” (doesn’t that sound awful?) I wanted to try out my latest idea, to make a mini-book. Here is a file to print.

Easter story: Jamies Easter Egg mini booklet

You get two books per page. Cut the page in half and then fold each half into a booklet. Fold it lengthwise and then fold like an accordion. You’ll figure it out. The little “books” turn out so cute! Perfect to keep in your purse or wallet to give away. I’ll be making a series of stories like this one.

I got to the theater and they were sold out! But there was a next show at 7:10 PM. So I purchased my ticket, with senior discount! What to do? Go to my favorite place and have dinner (Olive Garden). There I remembered that not very far from the movie theater was the cemetery where my loved ones are. I’ve been wanting to go there all winter.

Eva and Bengt at Rivermont

It’s called Garden of the Crosses where my “little” girl is buried. Her daddy’s ashes are in an urn in the chapel. Let me do a close-up so you can see how I’ve decorated it. That space is designated for two, so if my daughter decides to have us both in the same place, that will also be my final resting place on earth.

IMG_0274

The blue urn is from Nicaragua. I have placed in that spot one of Bengt’s Bibles, one of his prayer books, his Ordination certificate with the Assemblies of God, a picture of him preaching, a souvenier from Peru, and a Swedish flag.

Now comes the part about my Father in Heaven directing my steps, even to go see a movie! He knew I needed a little pampering. That movie theater has chairs so comfortable I don’t even have such a soft couch at home! You can pull out support for your feet and recline the chair to the back. It’s a miracle I didn’t fall asleep.

And now, I better find the period (.) or I will fall asleep at the computer.

To top it all off I listened to a new CD by David Ingalls from Oasis Radio Network. All this might not impress you very much, but after being “locked up” all winter, to go out today, enjoy the spring weather, and top it off with a movie that reminds me of my eternal home, it was a treat!

If you’re wondering about the movie, it’s a testimony of a family whose little boy was invited for a visit in heaven. He’s a teenager now. Some people are skeptical about it. I have questions and thought myself. But who are we to judge someones testimony?

Talking about testimony. A friend gave me an interesting idea this morning. If all the people the Apostle Paul referred to that were alive when he wrote to the church in Corinth, more than 500–if they all would have testified 10 minutes each in a court of law about seeing Jesus after he was resurrected, there would be 83.33 hours of legal testimony!

Now, my friends, I’m charged up for a very busy workweek ahead of me. God bless you!

(By the time this is published, Easter Sunday is a memory. Praise God for a Good Sunday to rejoice because Jesus is alive. Oh, how I love my Lord!)

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Easter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

