45 Years of Memories

Today is the Day of the Worker, not in the United States but in many other parts of the world. It is in Peru. And it was the day I got married, 45 years ago.

5-01-69 WEDDING 15

Not so many have a kiss with the backdrop of the Mantaro Valley in Huancayo, Peru. But that is one of my memories. I wish the handsome young man who kissed me was here, but he was called Home before me. Now I just live with the memories!

This young man’s name was Bengt Goran Emanuel Lundkvist. He later found out that he could spell the name: Lundquist, which makes it easier in Spanish and English. To honor his memory I’ve come up with an idea for the month of May. We are going to have Be-attitudes. Since our missionary life and our life together started in Peru, the backdrop for these Be-attitudes is going to be flowers from Peru.

For the pictures of the flowers I have to thank my sister Agneta and her husband Ola. The pictures are taken on their tours in Peru. Check out INKARESOR.SE. They do tours to beautiful places, and Peru has many of those. I’ll also be adding some pictures, or we might have a month just dedicated to beautiful Peru.

This idea came about as Cristina and I were working on a story. It’s about a little bee who didn’t want to work. When she sent me the picture of the bee my mind started swirling. It made a few rounds and landed on Be-attitudes. That’s the way my mind works.

Now I have to hurry so I can get the story published. It will come in English later. My friend Nancy is working on it. The story is written by a young girl in Bolivia (30 years ago). She loved to write nature stories.

Now, back to my plan for the month of May. Let’s concentrate on attitudes. Attitudes that mirror Christ. They will not be in a specific order of importance, because all are important, but just following the alphabet. Let’s pray that God helps us so that in everything we have the attitude of Christ.

“Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus” (Phil 2:5).

 Be compassionate

BE COMPASSIONATE
Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. (Col 3:12)

Have a blessed day and a wonderful month of May!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Be-Attitudes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

