A Sweet and Gentle Girl

“Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus” (Phil 2:5).

Be gentle

BE GENTLE
A gentle answer turns away wrath. Be completely humble and gentle. (Prov 15:1; Eph 4:2)

I was awakened this morning by a loud cry and a shake. It was my precious little Sarah wanting a hug for her birthday. She is 6 years old today. She is sweet and gentle, but she didn’t know how to wake me up so she chose something abrupt, not so gentle and sweet.

I wanted a birthday picture, but you know how kids are. They like to goof and make faces. And that’s what she did!

Funny faces at 6

Here are some other faces. She has brought me so much joy. When I was at one of my lowest points of my life, when I was going to have surgery because of cancer and my husband was fighting his last battle, I got the news that a new life was on the way. How much this little one has inspired me to fight, to keep living!

Sarah memories

I hope I get to celebrate many more birthdays with Sarah. And I hope she will always be gentle and sweet. Gentleness is a fruit of the Spirit. I pray for her, for my other grandchildren, for my daughter, for my son-in-law, for myself… and for you, that we will be open to the work of the Spirit in our lives, so that the gentleness of Christ will shine in us and through us.

 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30

The plans for the day are to visit Sarah’s classroom this afternoon and take cup-cakes and drinks for the children. Then we will have dinner at Chilli’s. She said yesterday that I can choose whatever I want to eat. Wasn’t that sweet?

God bless you! Be gentle!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Be-Attitudes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

