Two Birthdays

Here are some of my memories from another Mother’s Day. The boys were not interested to be in the picture. I’m so thankful that God has given me the privilege of being a mother. And I also get to be a grandmother. See how we match?

Mothers Day 14

Saturday night my granddaughter Sarah thanked God for her two birthdays. She had her “first” birthday on the day celebrating her birth, and then on Saturday it was her party.  When she gets a little older she will understand about having a second birthday for real.

Sarahs bday party

Do you have a second birthday?

Now there was a Pharisee, a man named Nicodemus who was a member of the Jewish ruling council. He came to Jesus at night and said, “Rabbi, we know that you are a teacher who has come from God. For no one could perform the signs you are doing if God were not with him.”

Jesus replied, “Very truly I tell you, no one can see the kingdom of God unless they are born again.”

“How can someone be born when they are old?” Nicodemus asked. “Surely they cannot enter a second time into their mother’s womb to be born!”

Jesus answered, “Very truly I tell you, no one can enter the kingdom of God unless they are born of water and the Spirit. Flesh gives birth to flesh, but the Spirit gives birth to spirit. You should not be surprised at my saying, ‘You must be born again.’ The wind blows wherever it pleases. You hear its sound, but you cannot tell where it comes from or where it is going. So it is with everyone born of the Spirit.” (John 3:1-8)

When you receive Jesus as your Lord and Savior you are born into the family of God. Then you can celebrate two birthdays. It’s great to be alive, to celebrate a birthday each year. But nothing compares to being born into the family of God.

Last night Sarah and I had a long time talking and praying. These are some things that are in the mind of a six-year-old:

Dear God, please make the big black hole go away. I don’t want to die in the big hole. I want to die in Heaven.

Grandma is going to beat me to die because she is older. Mom and Dad are also going to beat me.

Help me not to worry about the tornadoes. Please when I worry take it away. You made everything and you can make me not worry.

I hope you know in Heaven that I love you, God. I love you very much.

It’s wonderful to tell the Lord how much we love him. He knows it! But there is something special in expressing out love.

Three years ago Sarah and I started telling Rapunzel stories. She still wants to tell those stories. We make them up as we go along. I guess we will be doing this all week. Her parents and sibling are going to be at work and school. Her summer vacation has started. Tonight is her graduation from Kindergarten.

It’s a new week, with new challenges and possibilities. Tomorrow I will continue with the Be-attitudes.

abeja y pajarito

What do you think these cutie-pies are talking about?

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Be-Attitudes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

