Honesty Wins

“Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus” (Phil 2:5).

Be honest

BE HONEST
An honest answer is like a kiss on the lips. Kings take pleasure in honest lips; they value a man who speaks the truth. (Prov 24:26; 16:13)

There is someone who always wants to kiss me on the lips. I’ll let you guess. Which one?

My grandkids May 2014

I’ve spent the week with these kids. Sometimes they ask who I like the most. How can you answer such a question and be honest. There is none you love more or less but you love each one in their special own way.

David kissed me today, maybe 20 times. It was his way of telling me how much he loves me. He is a very intelligent boy, but he has his struggles with Aspergers, a form of Autism. He got several medals and awards for this past school year.

The little one in black just graduated from Kindergarten. She also got awards. This week I’ve had the privilege to snuggle up with her in bed. And we have spent the days together while the others were at school. I’ve tried to juggle my work and her play. With one hand I would type on the computer and with the other hand I would hit the balloon that served as a ball. “Mormor (Grandmother), why do you have to work?” she would ask me time and again. Good question. I’m retired! Why should I be working?

Lana is our animal lover. She got rewards as the best reader in her class.

The cutie-pie that always tilts her head is Brianna. She told me it’s too heavy to keep upright! Do you see how many medals she has hanging around her neck? This girl has been my “royal servant” all week. She is my BFF (Best Friend Forever). Ever since she was a baby she has had a special love for her Mormor. She would love it if I told her that I love her the most!

Which one do you think always kisses me on the lips? Do you think it’s the one who kissed me 20 times today? I doubt that a 10-year old boy wants to kiss an old lady on the lips!

Do you think it’s the little one in black? She’s like I was as a kid. She doesn’t like to kiss!

My Royal Servant or my animal lover? It’s the girl in yellow! Lana always wants to kiss me smack on the lips! That’s our special secret weapon of love.

To be honest, I cannot tell you who has captured the biggest spot in my heart. Only God and I know that. I take it back. Only God knows. There is no way I love one more than the other. If I do, I don’t know which one.

Kings take pleasure in honest lips. Parents and grandparents also take pleasure in the truth. Sometimes we have to speak the truth in love. The truth can hurt.

This week I’ve written an article for the Year of the Home about what comes out of the fountain of our lips. Read James 3:1-12 and see what it says about the tongue. It’s very important that parents speak the truth. We have children watching us.

I now have one week of peace and quiet. The first week of June, these my Jewels will spend it with me, at Mormor’s House. What a treat! I never had that privilege when I grew up. We lived in Chile and then in Peru and my grandmothers were in Sweden. That is quite a distance. My grandfathers had passed.

Honesty wins, even when answering the question of who we love the most!

Do you have any favorites? Be honest!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Be-Attitudes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

