Loving and Lovely

“Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus” (Phil 2:5).

Be loving

BE LOVING
Love one another deeply, from the heart (1 Peter 1:22).

My grandkids may 14

BE LOVELY

These are my lovely grandchildren. I wish I could multiply them by 3, at least. I used to wish and plan to have 12 children, but that is something we don’t have power to control. God is the giver of life. He thought it fit to give my husband and I 2 girls. One of the girls is now with Him for eternity.

Lovely? It’s easy to be lovely on a picture. The important thing is to be loving and lovely in “real” life. That’s what counts.

Yesterday the Be-attitude was Kindness. Here is a quote i found that gives a good description: “Kindness is like a warm blanket of snow, softly covering and gently touching the heart.” Heather Wolf

I also had a very touching experience of a kind lady I met at Walmart. Let me tell you the story.

My assistant Cristina was going on a week’s vacation to accompany her grandmother on a trip from Lima to Huancayo. Those of you that know that route will understand why it wasn’t a good idea for the grandmother to travel alone. You cannot choose train nor plane; it has to be in a bus or a car. They had to take a bus. The road goes from sea level to over 13.000 feet then back down to 10.000 feet above sea level.

Cristina’s pay-check is always due at the end of the month but she asked if I could pay her now because she only had like 20 dollars left. It was not a problem on my end to advance the money. The problem was the weather. Those of you who live in Springfield know how hard it rained yesterday. The rain really messes up my feet. They were so painful I could hardly walk. I could have said no, but I wanted to be kind so I ventured out in the rain.

Walmart. Why Walmart? It’s the closest place I have to send a Money Gram. Friday afternoons is very busy and parking spaces are scarce. I prayed to Jesus to help me find one, and he did. Praise the Lord, the-nearest-to-the-door handicapped parking space was open. Then there was an empty shopping cart standing close by that I could lean on to walk inside. I  found no electric cart but it’s not very far to walk to the Customer Service Center. I made it!

There was, of course, a long line of people waiting to be serviced. I sat down on a bench and asked the man in front of me if he could save my spot since I couldn’t handle to stand in line. In front of him was a very kind lady. She offered to give me her spot. “Just sit, and I will tell you when it’s your turn,” she said. We started talking and later she provided me with a chair that I could sit on while my transaction was being processed. Come to find out, she was of Swedish descent!

This is such a happy memory from a rainy and “painful” day. The Lord sends people in our way when we best need it. We do a kind act and then someone else does something kind to us. This is the way it should always work. That is lovely!

Now I have an entire week ahead of me to enjoy my lovely grandchildren. David is very loving and caring, always thinking up ways to make it comfortable for me. He has set me up with a space where I can rest my feet and at the same time work on the computer. Brianna, as I told you last week, is my royal servant. The important thing as that we all be loving servants of Jesus.

Let’s love one another deeply,
from the heart!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Be-Attitudes, Love and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

