Patience takes Patience

“Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus” (Phil 2:5).

Be patient

BE PATIENT
Be patient, bearing with one another in love. Love is patient. (Eph 4:2; 1 Cor 13:4)

Someone once said, “It takes a lot of patience to develop patience.”

Be around high-maintenance and hyperactive children and you can develop patience or maybe impatience.

I’ve spent a week with my very active grandchildren. I love them to pieces but my patience seems to be slimmer by the years. Maybe it’s not the patience that is wearing off but the energy. It’s not fun to be getting old. I wish my body was as young as my soul feels, but that’s not the case.

I now have three weeks to “rest” and then I will help my daughter take care of her active children because she is having surgery.

We had a fun outing with the children at a Bible Museum that is going on in Springfield this year. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!  Passages on East Sunshine, across from Sam’s Club. They had a very interesting program for the children to follow some paw-prints and get information about the Bible and its origins and translations.

Our boy is autistic and at this occasion he got his mind set on finding the paw-prints. There was no patience in waiting for his sisters and his mother and grandmother to catch up with him. We called out for patience, but he didn’t want to hear that.

Some other time, when I go to the museum on my own I will bring some information to you. The only thing I remember are the small and big and fancy scrolls. But I’m glad I could take the children, even if it required several ounces of patience from my daughter and I.

On Friday my daughter had a garage sale. And we got rained out! It was more or less rainy all week. But now I have several boxes of clothes and toys to donate to my favorite charity in town, the Victory Mission. They work with the homeless.

Yesterday I spent the day picking up new strength and praying for my assistant Cristina. She has been visiting relatives in Huancayo. We could not get a good Skype communication but she wrote me some notes. It was devastating news. Her uncle, one of my Sunday school boys from the sixties, had gone missing for three days. She had to go to the morgue to identify a body of a male badly disfigured, to see if it could be her uncle. Poor Cristina, what an experience! Through a note from her sister I know her uncle has come home, but no details.

How did I rest? I went through all my art for the Book of Acts to define what still is needed and send the list to the artist. I’m hoping to make story books for children. Will you pray with me that the Lord send me the right person to help with this?

Here are samples of the pictures, showing a freak accident with a happy ending. Paul was preaching a looong sermon, until midnight; there were many lamps; and a young man seated in a window, falling into a deep sleep. He fell three stories down and was picked up dead! Paul went and resurrected him, and then continued his preaching until daylight! How about the?! Read the story in Acts 20:7-12.

Eutychus at Troas

Thanks for your patience with me and my sometimes “crazy” blogs. I’m thankful that someone wants to read them!

I wish you a blessed first week of June. Summer is on the way! Or it might be winter, if you’re on the other side of the Equator. Either way, I wish you blessings!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Be-Attitudes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

