Let’s Respect One Another

“Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus” (Phil 2:5).

Be respectful
BE RESPECTFUL
Show proper respect to everyone: Love the brotherhood of believers, fear God, honor the king. (1 Peter 2:17)

Our dear friend Peter has put it in a nutshell:

  • Everyone
  • Brotherhood of believers
  • God
  • Authorities

Back to the nutshell: EVERYONE deserves our respect.

I made some notes early this morning:

  • Recognize the potential in others
  • Encourage instead of putting someone down
  • Submit to others in love
  • Persist in being kinder than you feel
  • Empathize with everyone regardless of your feelings
  • Cover people with prayer
  • Treat others as you would like them to treat you

A beautiful story in the news yesterday was about a young 14-year-old who carried his brother who has cerebral palsy for 40 miles on his back, to raise awareness about cerebral palsy. That is a sign of utmost love and respect. The best I can say is that I respect that young man for showing such kindness to his little brother.

Read the story: here

May God help us to show respect in any possible way. I grew up learning to be respectful. One way to show respect was to greet a person when you met on the street or any other place. What I have seen in later years, or maybe it’s because I now live in another country, is very little respect in that manner.

I have had young people come to my house, act as if I wasn’t even here. That hurt! No greeting whatsoever.

When my grandchildren come I make sure they greet me and I greet them. When visiting them, every morning I make sure to greet each one. For me that is the simplest and first sign of respect. Then comes all the rest! I made an acrostic using some words. See if you can make a different one.

Respect
Respect God
Respect your Family
Respect the Family of God
Respect Authorities
Respect your Neighbors
Respect your Friends
Respect Everyone

Respectfully yours,
Kerstin

 

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Be-Attitudes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

