A Boy’s Prayer for his Dad

This is one of Jesus’ many promises:

“I tell you that if two of you on earth agree about something and pray for it, it will be done for you by my Father in heaven.” Matthew 18:19, NCV

I want to share the story with you that I wrote this week. Hopefully it will inspire you and your family, to take hold of Jesus’ promise and agree in prayer. I know by personal experience how wonderful this promise is.

To print the story: 32 Alex’s Prayer

To print a coloring picture: 32 Alex

AlexAlex was worried. When his father came home from work each day they usually played ball. He was always cheerful and jovial, and sometimes he told jokes as the family sat around the dinner table. But lately he came home from work in a bad mood and didn’t want to play with Alex and his sister and brothers. All he did after dinner was watch television.

“Mom, what did I do to Dad? He doesn’t want to play with me anymore,” Alex asked his mom.

mama de Alex “Son, you haven’t done anything,” she replied with some concern.

“Well, why is Dad not happy and cheerful like before?”

“He’s worried, Son. His boss is treating him very badly. The boss can’t fire him but he’s making life miserable for your dad. I think his boss is hoping he’ll get tired of it and look for another job.”

“I’ll pray for Dad,” said Alex.

ALEX PRAYED EVERY NIGHT

The days passed. Alex prayed every night for a solution to his father’s problem. One Sunday, in his Bible class, the teacher talked about prayer and a promise that Jesus made. Jesus said if two or more people agree about anything they ask, our Heavenly Father hears and answers.

Alex thought for several days about what the teacher had said. He decided to talk to his mom about the problem his dad had at work. He asked, “Mom, can’t you and I pray the way Jesus told us to?”

“What do you mean, Son? What is concerning you that you want to pray about?” asked his mother.

“Well, Jesus said that two or more people can agree and pray together about anything. Could we pray about Dad’s job? Marsha and John and Jamie can pray too!”

THEY ALL AGREED

And that’s just what they did. Every afternoon when Alex and Marsha arrived home from school, mom met everyone in the family room and they prayed for Dad. Jamie was small and was just learning to talk, so all he said was, “My Dada.” But he prayed with his hands together and his eyes shut. John prayed earnestly, “Dear God, help my dad to be happy in his work.” Alex and Marsha agreed with him.

Monday through Friday they all prayed together. Since Dad was home on Saturday and Sunday, each one prayed individually. Alex did not let a day pass without praying.

 padre de AlexA BIG SURPRISE

One day there was a big surprise at dinner time! Dad told a joke that made everyone laugh. Jamie was too young to understand the joke, but he laughed anyway because he saw the others laughing. “Ha, ha, ha!” he said.

Another day, Dad came home from work and wanted play ball with Alex. And boy did shoot some great hoops!

Gradually he returned to the cheerful and jovial father he had been before. It was a great joy for Alex and his siblings to have a happy dad again!

“Dad, you’re back to your old self. What happened?” Alex asked one day.

“Forgive me, Son, for making you sad,” Dad replied. “We have a new boss at work now. The former boss treated me very bad and made me cranky. This boss treats me well and I am happy again.”

“Dad, we have prayed for you,” said Alex. “All during the week we met with mom to pray. Jamie could only say, ‘My Dada’, but I think God understood his prayer too.”

“Thank you so much, Son. It’s a good thing my family knows how to pray!”

“We did what Jesus said. We agreed in prayer for you to be happy in your work. We wanted to have a dad who was happy at work AND at home.”

DAD ASKED FORGIVENESS

That evening, at dinner time, dad apologized to his family for making them so sad and worried. “I will take you for ice cream,” de said. You deserve that and much more for putting up with me when I was in a bad mood AND for praying for me.”

“Hurray!” they shouted.

After helping mom clean the table and wash the dishes, the family left for the ice cream shop. Marsha took Jamie’s hand so he wouldn’t run into the street. Alex and John hooked arms. Mom and Dad were happily holding hands as they all walked together.

Alex thanked God for answering their prayers. More than anything he gave God thanks for giving him such a wonderful dad, even though he had been in a bad mood for a while.

Several of Alex’s friends have no dad. Alex prayed for them to understand that God is their Heavenly Father who cares about them deeply and wants to take care of them forever.

32 Poster Matt 18_19

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Family, Fathers, Prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

