A Puppy for Cody

Here is a cute story to tell your children and grandchildren or your kids in Sunday school. It shows a kind and beautiful heart.

perrito titeres 2
Phillip was one of the neighborhood teenagers. He loved dogs. Now he had some puppies he needed to sell and he made a big poster advertising the puppies. It read like this:

PUREBRED PUPPIES FOR SALE
Call Phillip
Phone: 204-567-8872
There was a power pole near Phillip’s house and that’s where he put up the poster. No sooner had he finished putting in the last nail when he heard the small voice of a little boy. Cody was passing by, saw the ad and was interested in buying a puppy.
cachorro 3 co

Cody approached Phillip and said, “Hi! I’m Cody. I would like to buy one of your dogs.”

“Sure thing,” said Philip, as he wiped sweat from his forehead, “but these puppies are purebred and cost a lot of money.”

Cody reached into his pocket. He pulled out a hand-ful of coins and showed them to Phillip. “This is all I have. Can I see them?”

“Why not?” Phillip replied kindly.

With a whistle he called the mother and her puppies. The dog ran out of the house, followed by four lovely puppies. Cody could not hide his happiness when he saw them.

As the puppies came closer, Cody realized that another puppy was leaning out the door.
cachorro 5 coThis puppy came out slowly, unable to hide how small it was compared to the others. He tried his best to reach his brothers and sisters, but he had a hard time because he was limping on one leg.

“I want the puppy that limps,” said Cody.
Phillip knelt down so that he could look Cody in the eye and replied, “You don’t want that puppy. He can never run and play with you. He limps.”

cachorro 6 coCody stepped back, leaned down, and slowly began to roll up his pants leg. On his leg was a brace that helped him walk. It was fastened to a special shoe with screws.

Looking back to Phillip, he explained, “As you can see, Sir, I don’t run very well either, and he will need someone who understands.”

What a beautiful heart Cody has! Since childhood he has learned to be kind and understanding because of his own disability. His parents have taught him to have a good attitude at all times in spite of his difficulties. cachorro 7 co

Cody is also polite. Did you notice that he called Phillip “Sir” even though Phillip was just a teenager?

Phillip was so moved by Cody’s attitude, he decided to give him the puppy.

“Cody, you need that puppy,” said Phillip. “You can have it. I’m giving him to you. Take him and take good care of him!”

“You’re giving him to me?!” Cody exclaimed excitedly. “I can hardly believe it! He’s all mine?!”

cachorro 8 co“Yes, Cody, because I realize that you have a good heart. The puppy will be happy with you.”

“Thank you, Phillip. Thank you! Thank you very much!”

Cody looked at the puppy and said, “I’m so happy! You and I will be happy together. So that’s what I’ll call you… “Happy”! I’m so glad I found a dog that is just like me!”

Cody gave Happy a big hug and they both went limping happily down the street. The crippled puppy now had a master who would always understand and love him!

perrito titeres 1

“Be kind to one another, be of good heart.”
Ephesians 4:32, NLT

Here are simple puppets the kids can do to act out the story. They will love it!

Puppets:  Puppets for Cody story small

Puppets for Cody story bw

Print a story booklet: A Puppy for Cody Booklet color

Enjoy your weekend! By next week I should be back to my normal routines.

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Stories for children and "big" children and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

