The Spirit of Self-Discipline

“Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus” (Phil 2:5).

Be self disciplined

BE SELF-DISCIPLINED
For God did not give us a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power, of love and of self-discipline.
(2 Timothy 1:7)

This is a subject that can be lengthy as eternity. In every area of our life we need to be disciplined. It’s nothing we casually do. You have to work at it! But we have the promise that God has given us a spirit of self-discipline. With God’s help we can practice discipline.

Discipline…

  • In our relationship with God
  • In our Bible-reading
  • In the use of our time
  • In the way we treat each other
  • As parents, in the way we discipline our children
  • In our eating habits
  • In doing exercise
  • In paying our tithes and giving offerings
  • In being available for service
  • In the time we spend on electronics
  • In the time we spend on social media

You get the picture! Self-discipline is not an easy thing. Something that is most difficult for me is to get on the stationary bike and exercise. I prefer to exercise my fingers on the keyboard!

You have to do a lot of juggling. Last week the girls and I went to the library to a juggling show. I could not take good pictures because I was sitting way in the back, but the ones I have here at least give an idea. We got to participate spinning plates and juggling scarves! How fun!

JugglingLook at the verse for the day. God gives us power, love and self-discipline. It’s wonderful to see these together:

  • power
  • love
  • self-discipline

We don’t have to do it alone. I have to exercise lots of self-discipline. How else would I get all the things done for my web ministry? It’s only God’s power and love that keeps me going. Remember the lovely story from last time, about the boy who wanted the puppy that limped, because they would understand each other.

Brianna and I spent Saturday night doing puppets for the story. Have you had any kids do them? Here are some pictures of Brianna’s puppets. She also made a set for her teacher. When she went on vacation she purchased a present for her teacher. Brianna takes after her mother. My daughter has always been very generous.

Cody puppets

Here is a sheet you can use to print the story and fold as a little book. Fold the page in half length-wise, and then fold like an accordion and you have a fun little book. Keep some in your purse or wallet and give to children you meet.

Story to fold: A Puppy for Cody Page Booklet color

One of the areas in which I have to practice self-discipline is concerning this blog. What would I like to do? Sit and write all day! But I have to divide my time between the translation for orphans, my weekly story, the article for the Year of the Home, the Bible lessons, the management of Royal Palm World Mission… Let me tell you, it takes self-discipline! But I love to engage my brain and exercise my fingers on the keyboard!

You can do it, too. Whatever your responsibilities are, God has his power and love to surround you. You can be a blessing to the people you serve. Your love for Jesus can be expressed in loving and serving others.

With God’s help, let’s be self-disciplined!

 

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Be-Attitudes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

