Let Joy Rule

Circumstances can change in a minute. That’s what has happened to me the last few days. I had plans for the ministry; I was counting on some help that didn’t pan out. But my joy is not anchored in how well my plans progress. My joy is anchored in the Source of Joy, Jesus Christ.

When we put our plans in God’s hands nothing can go wrong. Sure, from a human perspective it can seem like things have turned upside down. But from God’s point of view everything is just fine. We just have to tune in on his waive-length.

When I was a kid and went to boarding school in the jungle, in Tournavista, Peru to be exact, the only way to communicate directly with my parents was through a short-wave radio. Some of the kids got to speak every week with their parents. Our parents didn’t have one of those radios, so it wasn’t many times we communicated. But you had to be on the same wave-length if there was to be a conversation. It was funny. You said a few words and then “over,” and the people on the other end spoke. Then they said “over,” and you could speak. I remember how awkward I felt!

But I do not feel awkward communicating with my heavenly Father. Lately I had been sending up a question, that I also wrote in my journal: “Lord, what do you consider most important that I do?” Then I wrote a list of projects, both in Spanish and in English. And I had a very strong feeling that things were going to change.

Things have changed. I have done rearranging. I could feel very let-down and desperate but I have JOY. I feel God’s peace. At the end of the day, it’s HIS MINISTRY. I’m just an overseer. I have more than 50 pending projects, some of which involve 20 lessons each.

Me, Myself and I want to hurry and get them done. A few months ago my friend Nancy told me that I needed to slow down. My Dad’s wife wants me to take a month of vacation. Vacation? What is that? I am going to take a little vacation. I’m going with Dad and Mary on a 6-day bus tour to Norway. I might use my fingers to crochet a blanket for my granddaughter Sarah while I’m there. She has “ordered” one and even given me a list of the colors she wants. I have the yarn and she has approved it. I had a pattern in mind but she wants squares. It’s a little more work but what JOY to do that for my little jewel.

Just in time for all the change in plans I have finished an ABC poster on JOY.  Cristina has helped me combine the colors. I hope you like it. You can print it on sticker paper and cut them out and stick them all over the place.  The “extravagant” version is too heavy to be uploaded here. I’ll probably be inserting parts of it here and there on upcoming blogs.

Let JOY rule. Sometimes circumstances get in the way. I wrote an article on contentment this past weekend for the Year of the Home. It’s in Spanish on my Spanish web-site. Even if I haven’t translated it, I made a poster also in English. It’s the Apostle Paul’s formula for contentment.

Formula 1 Thess 5

You follow that advice and Joy will rule. Wrap rejoicing and thanksgiving in prayer. When your plans are overruled by the Highest Authority just lift your hands in praise.  God answered my question, not the way I would have thought, but he is Sovereign and knows best. Romans 8:28 still stands true, that everything works out for the best of those who are called according to his purpose.

Enjoy the poster.

Enjoy life!

Enjoy fellowship with Jesus.

ABCs of JOY

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in joy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

