Viva el Perú

Today is Peru’s Independence Day. They will be shouting out, Viva el Perú, which means “long live Peru.” Peru is the country that early on captured my heart. We arrived there when I was 10 years old, as a missionary family.

These are two reasons Peru is very dear to my heart:

Eva Carina

My two girls, Eva-Marie and Carina were born there, high up in the mountains in the mining town of La Oroya. There was an American hospital there where they treated me very well and delivered the girls. They did not even charge us anything! Praise God because we didn’t have any money to pay for hospital bills.

On the picture my girls are dressed in festive costumes from Huancayo, the city where we as a family spent most of our time as missionaries.

I wish I had time to write about everything Peru means to me but I have such a busy schedule these days that many of my pleasures of life have to be put on hold. One of them is to write blogs!

They say Mother Teresa said the following. Since she isn’t with us anymore I can’t verify. But I kind of feel the same way. But I’m glad I can serve God with everything I have.

I know God won’t give me anything
I can’t handle.
I just wish he didn’t trust me so much.

May you have a blessed day and a wonderful end of July week!

Peru July 28

 

 

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Peru and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Viva el Perú

  1. What a fun time to be in Peru! Cool blog…

  2. Ron J Patton says:

    Hello Kerstin

    I was also born in Peru (1949) of missionary parents and I lived the first 10 years there, by the way going to school at “Tournavista” just like you. My parents were working with the Evangelical Union of South America. I was at Tournavista during September 1956 to May 1958, possibly being there before you.

    My mother had an operation to save her arm at La Oroya hospital in 1953 after a vehicle accident, she almost lost her arm but lost so much blood that she went into heart failure. She was incidentally treated by a German doctor there. At that time we lived in Tarma. My two sisters Dorothy and Joan were born in Cuzco and Arequipa – both became missionaries (long since retired): Dorothy and her husband in Sicuani (Peru) as a missionary nurse and more recently in Costa Rica (with the Church of the Nazarene); Joan and her husband Andrew were missionaries in Brazil from 1971 to 2004. My parents retired as missionaries from Peru in 1972 and of course passed to glory several years’ ago.

    Yes I remember 28 de Julio!

    Best wishes

    Ron Patton

    ________________________________________

Leave a Reply

