Give God the Eraser

We plan, but when God holds us in his hand… plans change! I’ve learned that I need to be very flexible. Like today!

The day was all planned out. I had written a story about a girl who wanted glasses just like her grandmother, because she thought they were magical. This is the picture Cristina drew for me.

ABUELITAThe magic was not in the glasses, the mother told the girl. Her grandmother looked at things with the heart.  She was loving and compassionate, kinds and considerate… the girl wanted to be just like her.

I need a picture of the girl together with the grandmother, so Cristina was going to draw that for me today. But… yesterday she had done some rearranging in her room, unplugged the computer, and whatever she did messed it up. She cannot get it to work today. So I will not publish a story this week. My goal is to do one every week! See what I mean? I have to be flexible.

In a way, I’m glad. This has given me extra time to finish the watermelon lessons, and I have published an illustrated story about John 3:16. It’s true that when we love God ALL thing work together for our good.

I found a quote that I liked very much in the latest Guideposts magazine. One evening I needed to relax from all the writing, so this is what I did! I’ve already posted it on Facebook, but here it is for you.

Write your problems

Isn’t it this way with every problem? We just need to take it to God and then give him the eraser!

Today I marveled again at the privilege God has granted me to continue doing his work even as a retired widow. It’s the end of the month. It crept up on me! I woke up and realized it was pay-check time. Once more I had enough in the bank to send the money orders, one to Peru and another to Costa Rica.

I got a job recently that paid very well, double than usual. That was a gift from God so I can continue my on-line  ministry. Now I remember something. Way back, in my younger missionary days, I wished for this… that I could stand on “my own” feet and do ministry without having opinions thrown at me right and left. I guess God heard me loud and clear, maybe too clear.

Now I am wishing the opposite… that I would have somebody to share the load with. Aren’t we humans peculiar? We wish one thing and then when we get it we wish the opposite.

Forgive me for ranting away. I guess I just needed to have a little chat with someone, even if it’s just a one-way conversation. Now I am fired up to go back to work and finish the watermelon lessons. I will share them with you. But I need to get the Spanish done.

So, do you have a problem that is eating away on you? Write it down! Then hand God the eraser. God bless you more today than before, and more tomorrow than today.

 

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Encouragement. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

