Be Sincere

Be sincere

“Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus” (Phil 2:5).

But the wisdom that comes from heaven is first of all pure; then peace-loving, considerate, submissive, full of mercy and good fruit, impartial and sincere. Love must be sincere. (James 3:17; Romans 12:9)

Many years ago I heard an explanation for the word sincere, as being “without wax.” This came from the unscrupulous practice in ancient times to smooth over with wax any imperfections that emerged in a piece of work. I first heard this explanation in the Spanish language and it made perfect sense. Sin is “without” and cera is “wax.” Thus sincera, or in English sincere.

I have since read about this and many scholars do not agree on this explanation, but rather say that the word comes from the Latin “sincerus,” which means clean and free of deceit; no hypocrisy or falseness; pure.

That is precisely the meaning the Bible text gives to the word sincere.

But I am afraid that just as Eve was deceived by the serpent’s cunning, your minds may somehow be led astray from your sincere and pure devotion to Christ. 2 Cor 11:3

The goal of this command is love, which comes from a pure heart and a good conscience and a sincere faith. 1 Tim 1:5

[Paul about Timothy] I am reminded of your sincere faith, which first lived in your grandmother Lois and in your mother Eunice and, I am persuaded, now lives in you also. 2 Tim 1:5

Let me tell you a short story. You might remember that I said on Saturday that I was going to the Fair with my friend Janet. We did go out, but not as I first suggested. It was hot and not so appealing to go to the Fair. So I invited Janet to Olive Garden instead. She really enjoyed it, as it was her first time at that restaurant. Here is a picture we had someone take as we left.

Kerstin and JanetKerstin and the Birthday Girl

To be sincere, I had other plans for the day. Saturdays I write an article for the Year of the Home. But in the morning the Lord spoke to me about doing something for Janet to celebrate her 50 years. This was a once-in-a-life-time celebration that could not wait. The article had to wait.

I heard the other day about a man who was a janitor at a school and then studied and became the school Principal. He is very much appreciated. The reason? Because he treats everyone as family. That touched my heart. That is how it should be. I wanted to treat Janet like family!

The article that I had planned on writing was about the Golden Rule. That is the theme for this month in my Spanish Year of the Home program, to do to others as we would have them do to us. I guess I needed to have some practice before I preached. I did what I would have loved for somebody to do to me in a similar situation. (My girls did a party for me when I turned 50.)

A while ago somebody said to me that there is no good in the world. I disagree. There is a lot of good in the world. And there are a lot of sincere people. In the News there was a story about a father who asked on Facebook if somebody could retouch the picture of his little girl who only lived six weeks and had tubes attached to her all the time. Read here about the overwhelming response he got from strangers.

There are lots of people doing good deeds. God has put it in our hearts to be kind. We see it constantly… people rushing to help when someone is in need. There is also the opposite… hate and destruction.

The Golden Rule stands firm. But keeping that Rule doesn’t save us. Only Jesus saves. Our sincere faith in Him saves us.

We need the Savior. We need Jesus.

With his help we can be sincere and keep the Golden Rule.

The Golden Rule

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Christian Life, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

