AG Centennial Celebration

Last night I attended one of the most exciting services in my entire life. The Assemblies of God is celebrating 100 years since its founding. It was so exciting to be reminded that it was some brave women that brought the Holy Spirit Gospel to Springfield, Missouri; an impact that has spread all over the world. One of these women lived on bread and water for an entire year, to fast and pray for the furtherance of the Gospel.

Thanks to my kind friends Phil and Rita I was able to share this moment with the 10,000 delegates attending from 120 nations. I signed up for this celebration months ago, always letting my optimism get in the way. When am I going to learn that I no longer have the mobility of my younger years?

God, my Father is so kind and merciful. He knows all his children better than they know themselves, especially those like me, who think with the heart instead of the brain! When the realization hit me that I was not going to be able to attend due to limited mobility I spent a few sad days. But I lined up two couples that would help me out, one for the inaugural service, and another for the closing service.

Yesterday God gave me a treat. In the area reserved for wheelchairs I got the best seating of all, right in front of the biggest screen in the entire arena! Thanks to that screen I have been able to put together a little story for you. My camera is a Canon PowerShot SD1100IS, 8.0 mega pixels. I’m amazed that I got as good pictures as the ones I’m sharing with you. All the glory to my caring Heavenly Father!

AG headquarters

It was a rainy afternoon when we headed towards the JQH Arena for the memorable evening. We drove by the Assemblies of God Headquarters to photograph the 100, not knowing there was one also outside the Arena.

AGw Rita

Here I am with my friend Rita. We arrived a couple of hours before the initial time to be able to see some of the exhibits. I’ll save that for a story tomorrow.

AG rainy welcome

A walk around the premises was very colorful. I realize now we had landed on the section for Africa. What first caught my eye were all the colorful participants from Burkina Faso. Whatever has to do with that country always impresses me, because my sister and her family were missionaries there. These last few years they have been involved in building a hospital there.

AG from Burkina AG Africa

I don’t know where these beautiful ladies are from, but their entire delegation had these colorful uniforms.

How did I spot this little girl? Must be that my heart is always tuned to children.

AG hope

Then it was time for the countdown! I’m proud that I got a picture right on the mark!

AG countdown

Our Leadership Team headed up the introduction.

AG moment

AG Leadership team

AG G Wood

Praise and worship! There can’t be a great Assemblies of God gathering without praise and worship to our wonderful and glorious Lord.

AG singing

AG Ghanas president

His Excellency John Dramani Mahama, president of Ghana, is a member of an Assemblies of God church. The superintendent of the AG in Ghana is the one you see in a colorful robe. The President told an interesting story about his conversion.

He used to drive his wife and children to and AG church but then go off for some sports himself, and come back at the time to pick them up. One day the pastor asked him if he was planning to drop his family off at Heaven’s door and then head in the other direction. That made His Excellency John Dramani Maham reflect on his eternal destination. He decided to go with his family to church. That was an Assemblies of God church, and he had his pastor with him for this great celebration.

AG 100 Wood

Our Superintendent, Dr. George O. Wood was the key speaker.  He had made a video with the story of how the Assemblies of God was birthed. If you go to AG100 you can watch the interesting history-sermon.

AG pastor Jules

Pastor  Jules from Iraq had a powerful message to deliver. His testimonies of God’s protection and deliverance were moving. One time during a time of drouth all his Muslim neighbors farms were dry; the only one green and flourishing was his farm. They could not understand it. Even when he was imprisoned God showed him his powerful hand of protection.

AG lives changed

The 100 years of the Assemblies of God represents 67,500,000 lives changed. I have been a part of this movement since we came to the United States in 1988. In 1992 my husband and I were ordained as ministers in St. Petersburg, Florida.

It’s exciting to be a part of a movement that believes in the work of the Holy Spirit, not as something for the First Century but very much for our day. Our Fundamental Truths proclaim Jesus as:

Savior
Healer

Baptizer in the Holy Spirit
Soon Coming King

Now it’s time to watch the live service, so tomorrow I’ll have some more to say. Blessings!

Watch the Celebration: #AG100

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Assemblies of God and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to AG Centennial Celebration

Leave a Reply

