Personal Highlights from the Centennial

AG Press

This was a pleasant encounter I had on my second and last visit to the JQH Arena where the Assemblies of God Centennial was celebrated last week. My friends Jorge and Malena had been assigned to document this even with photos. I would have been my “personal press” if I’d been able to be on my feet. But even so, the Lord gave me some interesting and fun encounters.

I was very optimistic and printed lots of cards to give out about my ministry. Things didn’t work out like my optimistic mind had figured out. But I had a few chances to tell about the vision God has given me. I will tell about them in random order.

AG Friends es

These are my friends who cared to take me to the celebration the last day. We arrived early and had to wait for the doors to open but that was just fine. We took some pictures and met some interesting people.

AG Burkina

The man in this picture came to me and spoke in French. He’s got a camera in his hand. He wanted me to take a picture of him, which I did. Then he wanted a picture with me. Why he wanted me in the picture I couldn’t ask. I was happy because he is from Burkina Faso. Using my Spanish and  making it sound French I told him about my sister and her husband who have built a hospital in that country. The man in the back happened to know some English and when I told him my brother-in-law’s name, he knew it. That was fun.

AG Africa ladies

Then some ladies posed in their beautiful dresses, printed with the AG logo, and information about an Anniversary of the AG in Burkina Faso. It’s interesting that among the 120 nations represented at this event, it would be Burkina Faso that stood out!

AG Centennial KL

What an awesome experience to be celebrating this event! Let me go back to my business cards and how I gave out a few. In the morning service, held at Central Assembly, the speaker was the Superintendent of Cuba. That opportunity I couldn’t pass up. So I prepared an envelope with cards. I need the Church in Cuba to know that they can download teaching materials for free.

At the end of the service I was sitting by one of the doors waiting for a Hosts to get my car. It happened to be one of my former co-workers. How exciting! One of the foot stands on my wheelchair was turned the wrong way and a very kind gentleman helped me fix it. I picked up that he spoke Spanish. It happened to be the AG Superintendent from Chile. Another opportunity! Close by was another man who looked to be from Latin America. I asked him, and yes, he was from Ecuador. So I gave him cards. Praise the Lord!

AG Pray

There was a prayer room at the Arena, with these inscriptions on the side:

  • Thanksgiving for the PAST.
  • Celebrate the PRESENT.
  • Anticipate the FUTURE.

Prayer changes things. Prayer is my life-line. I asked God to give me some more opportunities as I visited the Exhibits.

AG exhibits

AG Life Publishers

Life Publishers. I worked with them for many years developing Sunday School Curriculum in Spanish. It’s  been a few years ago so the people working there now don’t know me. But I introduced myself. The man in the picture was promoting the Fire Bible, and the Fire Bible for kids. I told him I have translated the New Testament notes for that Bible. He got excited and called over somebody else. Guess what? I went home with a present, an ESV Fire Bible! What a treat!

AG dr gill

Another treat was to meet Dr.Debbie Gill. In the photo she is holding up one of my cards in English. She has such a kind and loving Spirit. Some ten years ago both of us worked at the AG Headquarters. It was Christmas-time and we had gotten bonuses. I had told Debbie about the dire financial situation that my daughter and her family had at the time. She gave me her bonus to give to them!

Kindness changes everything. That’s what it says on the caricature I got made at the Convoy of Hope booth. I look so young it makes me feel good. Kindness is a good thing. We are told in the Bible to clothe ourselves with kindness. It’s more than a Good thing. It’s our Christina duty. It’s the fruit of the Holy Spirit.

AG Convoy

I visited some of the booths on Thursday evening. I visited all of them yesterday. There I met some people from Colombia, from two different churches. They were beyond excited when I gave them my card. “We need teaching materials,” they said. Most of my cards had gone to Cuba so I didn’t have extra to give them. “We’ll photocopy them,”  they said.

Cuba, Chile, Colombia and Ecuador… And I can’t forget Burkina Faso. The man on the picture at the top was also very happy to get my card. I’m humbled! I could have done more. Don’t we all struggle with that? We can always do more!

AG Israel es

At the Israel booth I got myself a flag. I want to keep it on my table so I see it every day and am reminded to pray for Israel, but not only for Israel but for all the Middle East. Not only for the Middle East but for the billions of people still not reached with the Gospel.

AG history

It might have sounded in this and my last blog that I’m enamored with the Assemblies of God. I appreciate this fellowship that has embraced me and I marvel over the history of missions and souls saved over the past 100 years. But it’s not about me and it’s not the Assemblies of God. We were reminded of that by the last speaker in this great conference.

It’s all about Jesus!

  • He is our LORD.
  • He is our HEALER.
  • He is our BAPTIZER IN THE HOLY SPIRIT.
  • He is our SOON COMING KING.

Jesus

All glory and honor be to my Savior and Lord. I praise Him for the joy of celebrating with brothers and sisters from all over the world. We celebrated Jesus and we will continue to celebrate Jesus every day.

Glory to our Soon Coming King!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Assemblies of God and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

