The Pains of Change

Quite a while back I wrote about the “death” of my computer. It had been a painful process and the pain continues. I am finally set up with a new computer and the programs I need, but it’s a long ways from the way I could work before the death occurred.

My new computer is small and it will not recognize the monitor I need to be able to work comfortably. How I’m finally going to solve every detail to be able to get back to work the way I need to, I don’t know.

This situation is very distracting. Hours and hours of valuable time it lost. On a positive note, Cristina and I have managed to get back on Skype. She has had problems on her end for several months. The internet providers did not believe her complaints because every time they sent a technician, it would work. Isn’t that just typical? I sure hope this solution lasts.

We have lots of work to do this month. When don’t we? This is special. September is celebrated in Latin America as Bible Month and we want to give the churches special activities to do.

On my end, one of the latest stories is about a girl who admired her grandmother so much she wanted to have glasses just like hers. You can find it at

http://MX1414.wordpress.com

Yesterday was a “problem day” to go on record. I wish you could have been here and gotten a peek at the problems and difficulties that can arise from us wanting to do nice presentations. I started to write this blog and then I had to attend to another issue. Hours and hour it took to just figure out one problem. But you have probably experiences that many time in your area of experience. Problem-solving is very time-consuming. Now it is another day. Hopefully the problem is fixed.

Alejandra 3

It all had to do with the cute little girl on this picture—Cristina’s niece on her third birthday. Cristina and her sisters made a princess party for her and Cristina made beautiful instruction sheets for teachers and parents. Our problem was to make them as light as possible to be easy to download. It finally worked.

Close to eight in the evening we shut the shop. By that time I was so tired I fell asleep without cooking dinner. At midnight I woke up. I fixed my “salvation” meal, a potato in the microwave. And I had some pineapple to go with it. Easy to fix at midnight!

David 11 Lana 11

Here are pictures of my grandchildren on their birthday last week. I was thinking yesterday afternoon that in five more years they will want to have keys. I am sure they will have to get their own keys if they want a car. I’m looking forward to David driving my car—at least around the block!

I hope this change of computer won’t affect me too long. We all have to get used to change, especially when we work with computers. Every upgrade brings new features and some of the ones we loved are lost.

Looking back over the 26 years since I started learning computers I’ve gone through many changes. I started in MS Dos (I think that is what it was called) then Word Perfect 4.0 I think it was. Nothing fancy, just a screen like with type. Then we upgraded. I worked with Ventura, some Corel Draw. Then it was Windows and Word. Quark Express and after that inDesign (which I love). I can do Photoshop and some Illustrator… Even in Photoshop I have to accept change, going from a white/gray screen to a black one! I hope I’ll get to like it.

Remembering back at the computers I’ve had. My first one, in the start of the nineties, was very simple but it cost us $2,000! What a great system I could get these days for that money. I have used desk top computers up to some years ago and now I have four versions of lap-tops. My favorite one, dead! And now I’m back to a small screen wondering how I am going to get a big monitor hooked up. If I continue to “wonder” I might be wondering all day and not get anything done.

Another problem! I just discovered I have to move the mouse very carefully so it doesn’t disappear from the screen. No wonder I’m calling this blog “Change is painful.”

Want to hear some more? I feel nauseous as soon as a get close to the computer. Can the electrical waves be too strong? Or is the change playing with my emotions? Maybe it has to do with all the crazy ads that come up and mess with me. How can I get rid of those. Oh, how I miss you my old and faithful computer!

One thing is for sure: My Father does not change. I can count on Him through thick and thin. And He is going to bring me through this change. Praise to His Name!

Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows. James 1:17

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

