Remembering 9/11

When we say 9/11 everyone in this country knows what we’re talking about. Most of us were glued to the television, in shock over what we saw, how those Twin Towers in New York were attacked.

It’s been 13 years. That means 13 years since my mother died. My brother who also lives in the United States and I were going to Sweden for the funeral. I’ll never forget the uncertainty of that day. I couldn’t get myself to pack my bag. I would not need a bag since all the flights were canceled.

Three month later my precious friend and first-born joined her grandmother. If heaven is what I believe it to be, my mother and my daughter are enjoying each others company, talking away as they used to do here. My mother understood my daughter’s plight. Both of them battled health issues.

Moms graveI have somebody in Sweden to thank for this picture of my mother’s grave. 9/11 will always bring this memory to me. But it also bring another memory. Seven years ago I had surgery because of cancer. At the same time my husband was dying. In the midst of that sadness I received the new of a new life that was on its way. 9/11 will always bring the memory of the first announcement about my precious granddaughter Sarah.

How I miss Sarah! She is a big girl now. She is in school. Things change. I couldn’t keep my daughters as 3-4 year-olds. My grandchildren are passed that age. I now have to wait until they grow up to have babies and toddlers in the family again. If I get to follow in my dad’s footsteps I will see my great-grandchildren.

Does 9/11 bring you any memories? I praise God that he restored me and healed me from the cancer. I have neuropathy as a reminder of some very sad days. But with God’s grace we can go through the toughest times and come out victorious.

I pray today for all those who suffered because of that dreadful day 13 years ago. My pain is nothing compared to their losses.

Maybe you have some pain and grief. God’s words to the Apostle Paul concerning his “pain” is for us even to this day. God’s grace is sufficient for us. May you rest this day in God’s abundant and sufficient grace!

Gods grace

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Encouragement, My Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

