Sweden in my Heart 01

05 Hand luggageIf bags could talk, this one could tell lots of stories. But bags don’t talk so I guess I will have to do the story-telling. I am fighting jet-lag. I’ve never before been on my feet for 60 hours. Not literally because I can’t be on my feet for very long. I got up at 6 o’clock Thursday morning and didn’t go to bed until 1 AM Swedish time Sunday. I’ve taken some cat-naps in between but that’s all.

Let’s start at the very beginning! That’s a very good place to start…

01 My flowers

Early spring I bought some flowers. I was especially proud of these orange ones because they were one of my mother’s favorites. The plants were small and they kept small all summer. Now they have started to bloom. Now that I will not be able to enjoy them; but my neighbor across the street from me will. As long as they make someone happy, I’m happy!

So why will I not enjoy them? My bag that can’t talk could tell you why. I will be clear across the oceans.

My friend Larry, who planted the flowers for me, helped me out with an important matter to me. The flowers didn’t grow all summer, but something else did. My recycle pile! We went to Victory Mission to recycle clothing and other goods that my daughter didn’t sell at her garage sale this past springs and also to the recycle place with bags and bags of papers and plastic bottles. Boy, that felt good! Thanks my friend Larry for helping me!

02 Recycle

What else could my bag tell you if it could talk? That instead of spending the afternoon packing my bags for the trip I finished a project I’ve been working on about the Bible. True to me “good, old self” the packing wasn’t started on until midnight. My flight was 6 AM. So I thought!

At 3 in the morning I get a wake-up call, but I had never gone to bed. An hour later my friend Larry was taking me to the airport. This little bag of mine could tell you a crazy story. But the bag can’t talk! So I’ll tell it!

I had two big bags to check in. One was 2 pounds less than allowed and the other was several pounds over the weight limit. There, on the floor, at the check-in counter, I unpacked and changed things around. Talk about an embarrassing moment. But that was just the beginning.

With the bags re-packed I returned to the check-in counter and had my second very embarrassing moment of the day. There was no flight to Dallas at that hour! I had failed to see that it said 6PM on the ticket and not 6AM. My friend was very gracious and didn’t get mad at me. “Everybody makes mistakes,” he said. Good thing the flight wasn’t at 6AM and I had read 6PM!

My bags and I went home to spend the day. I repacked to avoid overweight charges. I took a little nap and waited for my next trip to the airport. In the morning I was told to pay $135 for my overweight bag. In the afternoon the ticket agent was more laid back and I got through with no charges! That felt good because the second bag was full of presents and orders from Sweden.

03 Bye Sgfd

Now there was no problem. I got on the plane and waved bye, bye to Springfield for a while.

17 BuckwheatBefore I move on I have to tell you about a new therapy I’ve started, thanks to my new friend Michelle.

Have you heard about buckwheat? It’s very beneficial for your health. I’ve started to use pillows with buckwheat to protect me from all the electric and magnetic energy coming from my computer. Michelle suggested that I use the buckwheat for protection during the flights.

These two pillow are very special. The red one has a pillow cover my daughter Carina made for me when she was in school. I used that pillow to sit on during the plane rides.

The special pillow for the neck has a covering remembering my daughter in heaven. It’s made with one of her dresses.

Michelle will be happy to hear the very positive report that I did not suffer half as much on this trip as usual. She also gave me a spray for jet lag and special gum that helped. Now I’m going to recommend buckwheat left and right!

04 Dallas TX

Gate 33Dallas was my first stop. I get assistance, something wonderful for those of us that have difficulties getting around. The negative part is that you can’t go strolling, which always is fun at airports. They take you in a wheelchair to a holding spot, place you there… and there you have to sit! I was glad to be placed by the gate for the plane going to London.

06 American Airlines

American Airlines to London. 10.00 PM. Said good-bye to my daughter by phone. She worried that I would forget to put my phone on air plane mode, and not use it while I’m overseas. Now I’ve even turned off the phone.

I almost missed dinner. I had taken a cat-nap and woke up right before they had finished serving. Breakfast I didn’t miss.

07 Breakfast

Glad to have had a window seat; perfect to take pictures. Here is a sample of the clouds. It’s an amazing feeling to see the clouds like a soft blanket. When I’m above the clouds I always think of the wonderful reunion that awaits us when we will meet the Lord in the air!

08 Cloud blanket

It was past noon when we arrived at the airport in London. It is a big airport. My bag could tell you about the complaining from assistants.”It’s too heavy!” Yes, it was heavy with all my writing materials and medications.

05 Hand luggage

We moved from one terminal to another. Wheelchair, shuttle, bus, train, wheelchair again. Parking in between. The bag that’s “not your bag” was a good place to park y swelling feet!

10 Parking

The bag had another adventure. After being complained about for being too heavy, a flight attendant at the gate offered to send it as checked luggage without extra charge. In all the commotion of getting my things together I forgot my zebra friend!

zebraWhat is my “Zebra friend”? It’s a walking stick! You can barely see it on this picture. I inherited it from my late husband and my granddaughter Brianna thought we should wrap it with zebra striped Duck tape. That’s how it got its name!

Some kind passenger brought the stick to me. The problem was that once we had left the gate area the door closed and there was no way to get back, so I could not retrieve it. Another problem was that they had no assistance for me. I had to walk the long corridors. Why? The flight attendant said I “made the mistake” of saying I could walk steps, so they sent no wheel chair. “Don’t say that next time,” she said to me. A kind passenger took my other bag so I had my hands free and could hold on to a rail. One detail I need to remember for next time. If not for the benefit of the buckwheat the soles of my feet would have been to sore to walk!

11 British Airways

The last lag of the journey was with British Airways. Full plane! But even this time I had a window seat and the possibility to take pictures and to enjoy the clouds.

12 Plane and bus

This picture shows one of the planes and the buses. They take you around from one terminal to another.

13 Enjoying clouds

My companion during this trip was Ezequiel. I have read the book of Ezequiel in the Bible a few times but it has been one that I have skipped over. I like to read the Gospels and the Psalms better, but I decided this was a good time to get into a deep study. Very interesting. I might do a concentrated version of my findings one of these days. If I can find my Bible!

Did I leave it on the plane? No! Yesterday I shared some of the interesting facts with Dad and Mary, and now I can’t find my Bible! I’ll find it. As Dad says, it can’t have walked away too far.

14 Ezekiel

Flying time with layovers? 20 hours. We arrived in Gothemburg, Sweden close to 9 PM.

15 Volvo

What was the first welcoming sign? A Swedish Volvo! That’s what they had us looking at while waiting for our luggage. Guess who was waiting on the other side of the doors?

16 Dad welcoming

What a pleasant surprise to see my dad! He and my brother-in-law Ola came to meet me. After that there was a 2-hour drive to Vaggeryd. That’s where I am and where I will be spending the next few weeks.

Let’s get back to the buckwheat. See the pillow I have around my neck? It’s not a pretty sight but it did its job. And I managed to remember to take with me the Zebra friend!

Now I need to go on a treasure hunt. Where can that precious Bible of mine have disappeared to? I wont rest until I find it. Then at 4 PM starts my work day with Cristina. We have 7 hours time difference from Lima, Peru to Vaggeryd, Sweden.

Have a blessed week!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Sweden in my Heart and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sweden in my Heart 01

  1. Bodil Sundquist says:

    Välkommen till Sverige! Må du ta igen dig rejält efter en sån pärs! Hoppas vi ses den här gången också. Hur länge stannar du? Eller blir det för gott?

    Kram
    Bodil

  2. Vicky says:

    ¡Que hermosa historia! La quiero mucho. Disfrute su estadía en la bella Suecia, hermana linda.

Leave a Reply

