Sweden in my Heart 2

Mary is Dad’s beautiful Peruvian wife. She is so sweet and loving and takes such good care of him. We’ll have a close-up picture in another blog. Here is an invention she made for us Sunday afternoon.

18 Squash cake

Through some friends my sister had given her a is squash that she is trying to use up cooking different meals. This is a cake she made, and she served is with squash soup. Delicious!

She served up an invention for my feet, too. I have to keep my feet up from the ground or they will swell to double size. Here is my foot stool! Since the pillow would just slide off, Mary tied it to the stool.

19 Foot stool

Before I go one, let me just share the view I have from my window.

20 My view

Mary is from Peru, the home of the potato. But potatoes have found a home also in Sweden. Swedes love potatoes.

These potatoes Mary found in a dump. She was so excited that she could “rescue” them. She went with my sister to pick wild flowers Sunday afternoon but the place had been bull-dozed. And there she found the potatoes. POTATIS is potatoes in Swedish.

21 Potatis

Prayer meetings! Have you been to a prayer meeting? Sadly to say they are not so common these days. I remember them fondly from my youth days spent in Sweden and from out time on the mission field in Peru and Bolivia.

Yesterday I went to a wonderful old-fashion prayer meeting. What a treat!

22 Welcome

Welcome-sign at the door. Välkommen = Welcome. Dad and Mary are part of a cell-group that meets every other week.

23 For prayer

Here are Dad, Mary and one of the ladies in the group. They are 12 in all. But they will split so they can be smaller groups and grow to then split into more groups. That’s the way to go!

26 Mark 612

This lady and her husband offered us a ride in their car that had such a special license plate. They didn’t order it, just got it! “They went out and preached that people should repent.” That’s Mark 6:12.

24 Fika

You can’t have a meeting in Sweden without “fika.” Fika means snack. You have coffee and goodies. Here we also had tea and wonderful Swedish bread.

25 Fika 2

Our host shared how Jesus prayed (John 17) for his disciples, but also for everyone that would believe in Him. That includes us. The we prayed. Not in silence, but each one had their turn to pray out loud. Just wonderful!

The evening was cold. There would be frost. So flowers had to be rescued. We’ll talk about my sister’s flowers tomorrow.

27 Agnetas flowers

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Sweden in my Heart and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sweden in my Heart 2

  1. Hermoso! usted me inspira a escribir positivamente! Dios la bendiga mucho!

Leave a Reply

