Sweden in my Heart 6

01 Per 94

This blog is going to be about my hero, my Dad. First of all I want to thanks my sister Agneta for helping me celebrate Dad’s 94th Birthday. She organized a party and cooked the food, totaling 35 guests. Also thanks to my brother-in-law Ola for transportation. Everything had to be taken back and forth to the church where the party was held. Also thanks to Mary for doing her part.

02 Dad and Mary

Here is Dad looking good and recuperated from heath issues during the summer. He is looking forward to celebrating his 100th birthday if Jesus doesn’t come back to take us home or calls him home before that great day.

03 Dad and Family

It’s not easy to get everyone together but here are a few of his family members. Three of us “kids” celebrated with him. My sister Agneta, my youngest brother Lars, and myself. Two of Agneta’s daughters (Siv and Sonia) and her son Aliosha, with families, and my brother Lars’ oldest son, Linus, and his family. Some of the children are not in the picture; they were playing in another area. Agneta’s youngest daughter came but had to go back home because of a migraine.

  • 5 children
  • 18 grandchildren
  • 30 great-grandchildren

04 Fall beauty

It was a beautiful fall day.

05 Pingts Vaggeryd

Dad had rented the church’s family hall, a very appropriate place, with beautiful surroundings.

06 Red tree

26 FavoriteTrees

07 Friends 45 years

Dad and his friend Dr. Anders Otterland, both the same age. They have known each other for 45 years. One time in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA Anders wife and daughter heard some people speaking Swedish. They said, “Those people are either speaking in tongues or they are Swedish.” It was the latter, and from then on they have been friends. Dad has helped Dr. Otterland type and proofread some of his book manuscripts.

08 Anders and Staffan

Here he is with his son Staffan that I met in Florida 25 years ago.

09 Olsson Otterland

Missionary friend Carlos Olsson, married to my best friend from Peru, engaged in conversation with the doctor.

10 Olsson

My Dad officiated at their wedding and Carlos cracked some jokes about how well he had done. They have been married 42 years. Anita and Carlos (Göran in Swedish) have worked many years in northern Peru. Anita was the Maid of Honor at my wedding.

11 Lindgren

Our missionary friends Lennart and Boyan Lindgren were also present. It was fun to be six missionaries that had worked in Peru.

12 Peru missionaries

13 IngMarie

Peru and the needy children have always been on Dad’s heart. This lady has contributed with a happy heart to the feeding stations in Huancayo so it was very natural to invite her.

14 Hulths

Here is somebody else connected to Peru. Sven-Agne adopted two children from Huancayo. His first wife passed away some years ago. Majkinn also has a connection to Peru. Her sister Estrid was with us in Huancayo for some time. She now lives in Chile, married to an evangelist there.

Isn’t it interesting with all the “connections”?

15 Agneta

Agneta with some of her family members. She is dressed in orange and her tall husband Ola is standing in the back. Her son Aliosha and I had not met since Dad’s 80th birthday.

16 Noelia

This is Aliosha and Hrund’s little cutie. Aliosha met Hrund in Iceland. We have Sweden, Peru, Iceland, Germany and USA represented in our family. (I hope I didn’t miss anything!) On this same day my sister-in-law Sherryl celebrated her birthday. We should have had cake together but it was a little hard to send over the ocean. But we didn’t have cake. We had Swedish cheese-cake, which is more like a thick pudding. Delicious! Ost kaka!

17 Sonia and family

To get the families together for a picture was hard, But here is Sonia. Her son Carl-Jesper was busy in his corner, like a modern kid with i-pad,  so I don’t have him in the picture. But Sofia left her phone for a while. You can see them very concentrated on this next picture.

23 Youth 2014

18 Ready for the party

We had the most exquisite meal, inspired in Peru; from the city where my parents worked since 1964–Huancayo. Agneta’s kids and siblings always expect to have Papa a la Huancaina for any party. If you read Swedish you can go to Inkaresor.se and look under Mat i Peru to get the recipe.

The sauce is the key, and Agneta is an expert. The sauce is served on a bed of lettuce with steamed potatoes, eggs, olives and onions.

19 Ingredients

Ingredients for the sauce.

20 Papa huancaina

21 Eating

Here we are enjoying the meal which also consisted of roast beef with rice or mashed potatoes and salad. Then the dessert that I have explained. I contributed with the strawberry jam for the “ost kaka.” And I peeled potatoes. Everybody had to pitch in.

22 Magnus Natalie Jennifer

Olivia (Sonia’s daughter) and Jennifer (with the long hair) on the left. The man on the right is Siv’s husband Magnus (Agneta’s eldest daughter) and by him is Natalie. He is Jennifer and Natalie’s dad.

24 Lars Lilo Dad

I saved the best for last. Dad’s youngest son, my “little” brother. Not really, he’s the tallest of the bunch. Here he is with his beautiful wife Lilo. So this was it. A few hours to enjoy fellowship. My nephew and nieces had to hurry back each to their. But it was so much fun to see them all.

25 With Dad

Not very many people get to have their Dad as long as I have. I hope I can keep up the tradition I’ve started, to come celebrate his birthday with him. We’ve always had such a good relation. Of course, when I was a kid I thought he was too strict.

When I was 15 years old Mom worked as a house-mother at a school for missionary kids in the jungle, in Tournavista. I stayed home to “take care of” Dad and at times my little brother. One treasured memory is that he wanted to help me fix things for my hobbies. One thing I wanted to do was press flowers and he tried to think up a way to help me.

Over the years we have worked together. My husband Bengt took over as the pastor of the church in Huancayo and I helped him in the Bible Institute. Dad has helped me many years with translations and now he types lessons and articles for me that I post on my Spanish web sites.

I didn’t bring a present other than myself. He thinks that is more than enough. But as we were preparing the meal yesterday I found a cute tomato. So here comes a wish for many more years from tomato and me.

27 Happy 94

Best of all, we know we are going to spend eternity together.

If you read this, and you are not sure about your eternal destination, let me help you. Write me at Kelund [@] kelund.com and I will explain it to you. Blessings!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Family, Sweden in my Heart and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sweden in my Heart 6

  1. Vicky says:

    Un año muy inolvidable y saludable! Gracias a Dios! Y Gracias por compartirlo, querida hermana Kerstin. Me uno espiritualmente a la gran reunión muy gozosa en el Señor de celebra los 94 de un gran Siervo de Dios como lo es hermano Pedrito a quien siempre recordamos con mucho cariño.
    Muchas bendiciones mas!

Leave a Reply

