Sweden in my Heart 9

After an adventurous and happy weekend I’m back at my “desk” in Sweden which consists of a coffee-table and a 3000-piece puzzle to put  my lap-top on. I sit in a comfortable chair with a pillow and a tray on my lap on which I have a wireless key-board, and on one of the armrests I have my mouse.

Here is how I fixed a “desk” at the home that hosted me this weekend. Unusual but comfortable!

Desk in Tidan

Saturday morning my sister Agneta and two of her grandchildren who were visiting her accompanied me to the train station. A good start for a weekend trip to visit a church that has stood by me all the years since I started my missionary journey.

02 Krosataget

Krösatåget is the name of this train that runs shorter distances. It means the Train of the Lingonberries. It took me to a town called Jonköping. I “visited” that train station a couple of times that day. Here’s what happened!

03 Jonkoping

Jönköping is situated by a big lake called Vättern. It was a beautiful day, with temperature way above average, a day to enjoy the scenery. Maybe I was paying more attention to my beautiful surroundings than to what train I boarded.

05 Jonkoping

At 12:04 there was a train leaving for Nässjö. Yes, that’s it, I though and happily boarded it. I made myself comfortable for a one-hour-ride. That’s what I thought!

In a while the Train Hostess arrived and I showed her my ticket. “Oh, so you are planning to go to Skövde,” she said. Yes, that was the plan!

“Well, you have just boarded the wrong train,” she informed me. “We are on our way to Nässjö.”

Oh, my… what had I done? She explained to me that it was an easy mistake because the boarding times for both trains coincided.  But, what should I do?

06 Jonkoping

I was blessed that day that there were trains going in the other direction that I could take to go back to Jönköping and then head the right way.

I want to applaud this Train Hostess. She found me the easiest place to stop and get on another train. She called the other hostesses and told them about my predicament. When it was time to get off the train she came to help me with my luggage, and she walked me over to the other train. Not only that, she let me use her phone to make 2 phone calls–first to tell the people who were to meet me in Skövde about the situation and then another call to tell them my new time of arrival.

Thumbs up for this helpful hostess in the Swedish train service!

08 Somaliens

This is one of the positives in my “negative” situation. When I boarded the new train, several ladies from Somalia boarded it with me They invited me to come sit with them and graciously let me take a picture of one of the little girls.

I found out that there are 50.000 Somalian refugees in Sweden. These ladies had been here six years and had learned Swedish fairly well. I praise the Lord for this encounter, because I have never before met people from Somalia.

At the beautiful Jönköping lake their journey ended. I was back at the same place, but now going in the right direction.

07 Jonkoping

04 Jonkoping

I will not easily forget Jönköping!

Here are some houses I photographed looking out the window.

09 Houses

10 Houses

12 Fakkoping

I had not intended to come to Falköping, but here I was. Now I had to make sure to get on the right train.

13 Train

Finally I arrived at my original destination! After a couple of extra hours of travel I was in Skövde, on my way to Tidan.

skovde

14 Lyckgarden

This picture did not turn out so good because of the way the sun was shining, but is shows the entrance of the house were I stayed. The name of the place is Happiness Farm. This is the same place where I stayed last year, and the year before, and maybe I will stay here next year. At least I know I’m welcomed back.

Apple tree

The apples had fallen. Is that why they call if “fall,” because the apples fall? It sure is a beautiful season of the year.

15 Flowers

The story goes on tomorrow. I’m happy to be back from my trip, but there is some fighting going on. I’m fighting back a cold! I need to be well because next Sunday I have another service. But I haven’t even told you about this past Sunday. Come back tomorrow…

Did you notice how many ö and ä there are in this blog? Together with å those are extra vowels in the Swedish language.

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Sweden in my Heart and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sweden in my Heart 9

  1. Sune Andersson says:

    Great stuff Kerstin – interesting and captivating text with pictures.
    Super job!

    Sune

Leave a Reply

