Sweden in my Heart 10

For 50 years the Filadelfia Church in Tidan has supported me with their love and prayers and also some finances. Whenever I come to Sweden I feel the need to visit my friends. They are so encouraging. That’s where I was headed when I had my adventure with taking the wrong train!

Tidan 01

The Happiness Farm (Lyckgården) is in the outskirts of town, surrounded by impressive woods. In this picture we are on our way to church. It was a beautiful sunny morning, the temperature far above average.

Tidan 03

The sun was shining when we arrived at the church. To stand outside without a coat was unusual for this time of the year.

Tidan 04

Unusual is also the green house across the street from the church. The most popular color of houses in Sweden is yellow. Then there are the red houses with white trimmings. This house belongs to a man from Polen.

Tidan 02

Something that made me very happy was to find the pictures from the Watermelon Gospel on one of the walls in the church. Find the lesson here:

http://mx1414.wordpress.com/2014/08/02/the-watermelon-gospel/

Tidan 05

This is not a big church; the membership is 45. Quite a few were with us for the service.

Tidan 06

A highlight was the Lord’s Supper, celebrated a little different from the USA.

Tidan 07

Tidan 08

They don’t have a pastor, but the members are very active and take responsibility for the services and the outreaches.

The people on both sides were my hosts, Leif and Miriam. In the center is Dan-Göran, a former missionary to Africa. All three of them assisted in serving Communion.

Tidan 08A

A bread is divided in parts, for each one to partake. And there is one cup from which all drink the fruit of the vine.

Tidan 10

The offering containers.

Tidan 09

Preaching. Also giving a report of my web ministry.

Tidan 11

Cute boys. Maybe I should say handsome?

Tidan 12

Great surprise! Irma, a friend from younger years came to the service. Her parents used to host me. When I first met my husband I put a picture of him in my car. I had not yet told anybody about him, but Irma saw the picture and recognized Bengt. She had seen him in Rättvik, where he had worked in the church.

Tidan 2014 5

Something I learned from those times was to be as inspired talking to 2 people as 200! Kid service for 2, the picture reads. We had a series of services for children planned. Only two arrived. I was used to lots of children from my ministry in Peru, but here I learned to appreciate even services with only two!

Tidan18

The red mark on the sign tells us we are leaving Tidan. For dinner we went to Moholm, to a place called Hjärpåsen. Beautiful surroundings!

Tidan 19

Tidan 20

Tidan.15

Tidan18

Tidan 17

Tidan 21

My friends Sören and Ulla’s place.

Tidan 13

Ulla, lighting the candles. She is very interested in Israel. This week she will be in Israel together with a friend. Their whole purpose? They go there to pray! They pray for the peace of Jerusalem, like God’s Word admonishes us to do.

Tidan 14

Enjoying dinner and fellowship, my hosts Leif and Miriam (top right) and my friends Ulla and Sören. Such a treat!

Cecilia in Tidan

Another treat was to meet Cecilia, a lady from Ethiopia. She married a Swedish man and that’s how she ended up in Tidan. He died a few years ago, but she stayed on together with her son. God bless her, she is such a loving person!

Kerstin Cecilia

Now to the realities of my weekend adventures. Someplace, somewhere, somehow, somebody gave me something I didn’t want. They didn’t ask for permission, and I don’t know who it was. Now I have to fight it. I’ve got some kind of chest congestion coming on.

Cinnamon, honey, lemon, tree-bark syrup, apple cider vinegar… these are my weapons. Most of all I’m turning to prayer. May this “thing” that somebody gave me soon finds this way very far from here!

 

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Sweden in my Heart and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

