Sweden in my Heart 11

Cinnamon, honey, lemon, tree-bark syrup, apple cider vinegar… and best of all— PRAYER! It works! I feel better today. Praise the Lord!

Let me give you some highlights from the farm I visited and some pictures from the trip back to Vaggeryd. Take into consideration that my pictures are taken from behind windows—from inside a house, a car and a train. And most of the pictures I take “on the move”!

For potatoes

This is called jordkällare, a special room built inside a mound to keep food from spoiling. It keeps a level temperature. Literally translated it is “soil basement.” This was used on the farms back in the days when there were no refrigerators. My friend Miriam uses her “jordkällare” to keep all her jars of different kinds of preserves.

Final apples

These are the last pick of apples for the season. And here comes the last rose from her yard.

Last rose

Kitchen window

Miriam’s kitchen window, and a look out of her dining room window. You can see her old-time basement on the right.

Farm 01

Monday, after a most delicious lunch, Miriam drove me to Skövde so I could take the train back. Let’s look at some pictures taken from the front seat window of the car.

Farm 02

Moss-filled stones.

Big tractor

A big tractor taking up most of the road.

Hay for the winter

Swedish marshmallows! Hay for the winter!

Road

Beautiful trees line the road by the farm.

To Skovde

We turn into a bigger road, 17 kilometer from Skövde (10 miles).

Swedish Church

Typical for most Swedish towns is the Swedish Church.

Train ride

There was beautiful scenery to enjoy on the train ride but hard to capture because of the high-speed travel.

Jonkoping again

Back at the station by the lake, oh so beautiful!

Prayer group

In the evening we had the Prayer Group at “our” house. But I was already struck by whatever virus I picked up on the trip. It was still wonderful to be at the prayer meeting.

Maria Debora

I’ll close for today with a picture of Dad’s wife Mary. She is at school right now. Yesterday Mary was very excited because of 40 questions on a test she only missed 4! Slowly but surely María Débora is learning Swedish!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Sweden in my Heart and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sweden in my Heart 11

  1. Victoria Velásquez says:

    Wow! Muy bonitas fotos! Y Que gusto de ver a Mary. Muuuchas bendiciones y grandes abrazos para Mary, Hermano Pedrito y a Usted, mi querida Hermana Kerstin 🙂

  2. Victoria Velásquez says:

    Maravillosa Suecia. ¡Cómo me encantaría visitarla alguna vez en mi vida!

Leave a Reply

