Sweden in my Heart 12

Busy, busy, busy… That is a good word to describe my life. I have so many project and so many ideas I told Cristina, my assistant, that it’s only one thing we are lacking. She wondered what that was: TIME! She has been working all night! Don’t think that I make her do that. No,  there was too much commotion going on because of family members traveling, so she needed to keep awake. Maybe she is sleeping now.

We had a very productive night, learning new tricks to make PowerPoints and videos. We are now launching my stories for children as videos for YouTube. No wonder I feel we need more time. Those things take time to do. Really, I need more people working with me.

Yesterday, Sunday, I had a service in the church that helped to “launch” me as a missionary 50 years ago. My brother-in-law Ola drove me there. It was 1,5 hours drive in very rainy weather.

Service almhult 01

The church is in Almhult, a town in southern Smaland. It’s popular because of IKEA. That is where it started. This “pingstkyrkan” (pentecostal church) supported my parents when they went out as missionaries in 1948, and they were with me when I started my missionary journey.

Service almhult 03

In a PowerPoint presentation I had a clip from those days, about “Sweden’s Youngest Missionary.” Those were the days! I wouldn’t mind getting to be Sweden’s oldest missionary.

Service almhult 02

It was a privilege to have Dad and his wife, Mary, with me in the service. I think the people at the church thought it was a privilege, too. They offered Dad and me some books as a present. Former missionary to Japan, Nils Ibstedt, was the architect for the church when they constructed a new building many years ago. By the way, at that time, the pastor, thinking about God’s blessings on finances, said to the church, “Now that we are doing a new building we should take on a new missionary.” They did, and that was me!

Service almhult 06

The interesting thing is that Dad did the proofreading for those books! The people didn’t know that. It was a funny moment. Dad has all those books and I have them because my husband had them. Now we have books to give away!

Nils Ibstedt has very many interesting Bible studies. You can check them out on-line at: www.nils-ibstedt.com  In the left column click on PDF in English.

My purpose in the service was to tell stories about my Royal Palm Ministry, which I did.

Service almhult 05

Service almhult 04

I started working with children more than 55 years ago It’s my passion. BGMC is the Assemblies of God missions program for children: Boys and Girls Missionary Challenge. I didn’t preach about BGMC but I had a bag to keep my puppets in.

Service almhult 07

Service almhult 08

I appreciate Ola for taking these pictures. I also have some beautiful flower pictures but I’ll save those for another day. Now I’ll share some of my pictures.

Almhult kal 01Almhult kal 02

This is the front part of the church, very tastefully decorated, with gorgeous dahlias.

Almhult kal 03

After church we were invited to Bo and Ulla. My daughter Carina might remember their daughter Jeanet. They are similar in age and used to play together when we lived in Sweden. Radhusvägen is the address.

Almhult kal 04

Here is a peak out the window to the back yard.

Almhult kal 11Almhult kal 12

Here are some more of the beautiful dahlias, this time yellow.

Almhult kal 05

Almhult kal 06

Dinner is ready! Beef stew, one for Mary with gluten problem and another for the others, and rice, potatoes, beets, tomatoes, pickles, and jelly.

Almhult kal 07

Nice presentation of the rice!

Almhult kal 08

Carina, do you remember Solveig? Then comes Bo and Ulla. Remember them? Do you remember me? Ha! Ha! The lady with the puppy had a very interesting story to tell. She has worked 3 years in Ethiopia as a nurse in a mission project. One night they woke her up with urgency asking her to take a pregnant lady to the hospital because of complications in the delivery. They hurried her so much she forgot to change and went in her pajamas. Half way there a boy ran in front of the car and she could not avoid hitting him. He was hit bad and she had to take him also to the hospital. If the boy died, they would stone her. The boy made it, and the lady and he baby made it. They were both miracles.

Here is the other miracle! She drove without gas! The day before a couple of guys had emptied the gas tank. She forgot about that! Later, two young man drove up to the hospital with a container of gasoline for her. They were beyond amazed at how she had driven with an empty tank. What a miracle! They were laughing and looking funny at her and then she realized she just had her pajamas on!

There is another part to the story. This lady had been doubting if she should stay at the mission. She asked God to give her a sign. Not only did she get all the above miracles as “signs,” but many people in the boys village received the Gospel and turned to Christ and were saved after the incident with the accident and how he survived.

That was something else! Some of the other stories we told that afternoon at Bo and Ulla’s house will probably be part of my book. I’ve decided to do it next year. I think my 50-year celebration of missions merits a book!

Almhult kal 10Almhult kal 13

Time flies when you are having fun, they say. Very true! Too bad we had to leave early not to drive  back to Vaggeryd  in the dark. Lots of moose and deer in those areas. By the way, hunting season starts today. And colder weather is coming on. These beautiful flowers will not last.

Happy memories last more than flowers, really for as long as we want to keep them. Yesterday I added some more to my collection!

What happy memories have you collected lately?

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Sweden in my Heart and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

