Sweden in my Heart 13

ERIC JOHANSSON. That’s one of my nephews. He’s got the most common names in Sweden.

Here is something quite different, something very common for breakfast; it’s called FIL. This milk product is similar to buttermilk. It has been my breakfast every morning. I add cinnamon and honey to ward off colds.

Cinnamon breakfast 1

Cinnamon breakfast  2

Cinnamon breakfast 3

Cinnamon breakfast 4

Maybe this weekend I’ll have something different to eat for breakfast. It’s getting somewhat boring.

Something very Swedish is this bread pictured below. I dare to say this is the most popular bread. They are called hardtacks. It’s like a big, flat whole-grain cookie.

Hard tacks 1

Hard tacks 2

Hard tacks 3

Var så god! This used to be three words and that’s the way I wrote it. I just found out it has been made to one word: Varsågod! That’s what you say when you offer something to someone. It’s so much more courteous and pleasant than what I’m used to hearing in the States: Here you go! I’ve lived in the USA 25 years and I still react to that. This Varsågod could translate like, Will you have some, please!

Would you like to have some hardtacks with creamed cheese made with shrimp? It goes well with a plate-full of “fil” with honey and cinnamon.

Or would you rather have plate of Mary’s Peruvian Potatoes á la Huanca?

We had a visitor yesterday—the mother of my nephew with the most common name, my sister Ingrid.

Ingrid visits

She is working on some gloves made with a technique from the fifteenth century. It’s not knitting and it’s not crocheting. It’s a sewing technique. Very interesting.

Old sewing glove

Since this blog seems to be devoted to food, let’s look at the delicacy May is serving up. You might recall we had this dish for Dad’s birthday party.

serving the papa

On a plate with lettuce, potatoes and eggs, here comes the delicious cheese sauce, with lots of spice to it. “Pica rico,” you say in Spanish. That means that it’s deliciously spicy hot.

serving the onions

Top it off with some onions with lemon, salt and olive oil, and it’s perfect.

para a la huanca

I might as well go on with another Peruvian dish that can make your mouth water. “Es para chuparse los dedos,” they say in Peru, something like wanting to lick your fingers. This is also based on potatoes. Of course, potatoes originally come from Peru.

papa rellena 1

These are stuffed potatoes. You mash the potatoes and make it like a dough. You grab a hand-full, fill it with a meat sauce, and shape it in your hand.

papa rellena 2

Then comes the frying. The less in a pot, the better.

papa rellena 3

Here are the ready stuffed potatoes, waiting to be enjoyed with the toppings.

onions and spicy sauce

Agneta and Ola, my sister and brother-in-law, enjoyed this dish together with us. That was last Saturday,

In the afternoon I was invited these very typical Swedish sandwiches. That’s the way they do them here.

open faced sandwiches

Have you survived this culinary extravaganza? This is all I have for now. It’s late, very late. I’ve spent most part of the day working on my sermon for tomorrow. It will be a PowerPoint presentation on Renewed Pentecost, featuring my friend Absalom’s art. I’ll tell you about it next week. I’m traveling to Lund to visit my friends Carlos and Anita Olsson. We will be busy working on some projects.

So, see you again next week!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Sweden in my Heart and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sweden in my Heart 13

  1. Vicky says:

    Very, very wonderful publication, querida hermana Kerstin! Siempre contagiante de alegría y de sorpresas y maravillas de Perú y Suecia. Estoy muy agradecida y muy orgullosa de tenerla como mi hermana espiritual y gra amiga. Un gran y fuerte abrazo a la distancia y que siga disfrutando y dure su estadía en Suecia para así seguir disfrutando de sus bellísimas publicaciones. Con mucho cariño para Usted.

Leave a Reply

