Sweden in my Heart 14

If my trip to Skövde, when I stepped on the wrong train, was adventurous, my trip this past weekend to Lund had other components. By God’s grace and miracle I’m back in Vaggeryd. Can you believe I traveled with a ticket for the wrong day? I’m not used to the Swedish calendar—the week ends on Sunday. By the way I’m used to seeing the calendar I picked Monday for a return date, which really was Tuesday.

Hassleholm

On the train from Lund to Alvesta, where I had to change to another train, I had to have reserved seating. In Hässleholm, a station in between, a gentleman gets on the train and asks me if I really had number 16, which he also had. He was gracious and took an available seat, and I wondered how we could have been assigned the same seating. Mine was for the next day! But I hadn’t realized that!

I’m getting ahead of myself. Mary, Dad’s wife lent me her cellphone. What a blessing! You’ll see it, when we get into the story of another adventurous trip I had.

Lund Anita

Anita is my friend from youth in Huancayo, Peru. We both have the same vision and passion to reach the children with the Gospel. Her ministry is focused on disabled children. She and her husband have built up a wonderful work in Chulucanas, and will celebrate the 40th anniversary next year.

This past weekend I visited Anita and her husband, Carlos (or Göran) in Lund. The train ride went by Nässjö, where I had to make a transfer. Anybody who has traveled there knows about the high and steep steps to climb to get from one platform to the other, because they have walkways over the different rails. The elevator didn’t work so I had to climb the steps, dragging my luggage. That was the most horrific climb I’ve ever done. Everybody had hurried ahead! At one point my bag containing my computer and my clothing slipped down out of my hands so I had to walk back down and start all over. The soles of my feet were burning like fire!

stairs to climb

This picture gives an idea of the heights to climb!

After making it to the next train I had a 2-hour ride. It was a rainy day. It has been very rainy in the south part of Sweden, with flooding. My friend Carlos had an emergency with a grandson that needed to be picked up from day-care so he called saying he would be late at the station in Lund. I don’t remember him saying something about going to the west side of the station to wait for him, so I followed the crowd and ended up at the east side. Finally it was straightened out and I could climb into his Mazda and arrive at their apartment at “pingstkyrkan”. The rain did not stop.

Lund 01

Lund 02

Rainy day at the station at Lund

In the evening I spoke at their Spanish cell-group. We had problems connecting to the system to show my PowerPoint. The only thing that showed on the screen was my desk-top flowers. How could that be?

Lund service 4

Lund service 1

Lund service 2

People were sitting in different areas so I had to ask them to sit around my computer as I presented the message. It was very interesting, that in this service the same as in Almhult, I had confirmation that the message the Lord had given me was right on target. God knows what he wants to speak to his people!

Lund service 3

The message was “Do It Again—Renewed Pentecost.” When William Booth, the founder of The Salvation Army, finished reading Acts of the Apostles, he prayed to God, “Do it again! May the Spirit once again enable the disciples to testify and confirm the Word with signs and wonders. We want to be your witnesses in the end times.” That is my prayer and that was my message: DO IT AGAIN!

My friends and I had lots to talk about and stayed up till two in the morning. On Saturday we had a short visit of their daughter Veronica. Such joy to be able to give her a hug once again. As a kid she and her older sister visited us in Bolivia.

Kerstin and Veronica

Any spare time we had this weekend was devoted to plans on working together and learning new things to enhance PowerPoint presentations. In between work we also had some good food.

Falukorv

Good food with good friends. This is the Swedish “falukorv”

Lund is a university city with students from Sweden and around the world. In the service the songs were in English. That was disappointing because I would have loved to sing in Swedish.

Service Sunday 1

Service Sunday 3

Little children playing maracas

Pouring rain! We looked for a place to eat. Not many open. People here don’t eat out like in the United States. But we found a pizzeria and had a very good pizza.

Lund rain

Pizzeria

Carlos and Anita

My friends Anita and Carlos Olsson

Margarite Pizza

This day of celebration with friends was also a day to remember my late husband. On October 19, 2007 he left his earthly home.

Remembering Bengt

Before leaving on Monday I had a visit with Anita and Carlos’ youngest daughter, Cesia, and her cute little boy.

Cesia and eli

Eli

Back to my adventures on train rides. The “train host”, as they call them, wasn’t paying attention. Good for me or he would have realized my ticket was for the next day. No wonder a gentleman and I had the same seating assigned! When it was time to change trains, this host told me to just stay on the same platform because the next train would come there. Wrong! When I finally realized it couldn’t be right and started looking for the  platform I needed to be on, it was too late. “My” train just swept by!

Alvesta

clock

luggage

trains

What would I do now? I had to find my way to the main entrance of the station. The only thing I found was a store, called Pressbyrån. The girl in charge told me there should be a Station Host walking around. Praise God, that the Host was just around the corner. She said I could use the same ticket on a train due to come by in an hour. But I needed to pay close attention because many times they change platforms from the announced one.

What a blessing that I had the cellphone. I could call Dad and tell him my new arrival time. Then wait, take a walk to the elevator, wait in the walkway, take an escalator down to the platform, wait in the rain, hear a change about platforms, but just across from each other, and finally be on the right train… BUT NOT THE RIGHT DATE! This Train Host was more observant. “This ticket is for tomorrow!” I guess it was because it was evening and there were few passengers that she let it slip by. An angel God sent my way.

I don’t want to take any more train rides in a looong time. The train stations I’ve been at are not handicap friendly. You’ve got to be well able to walk to travel on trains and well able to climb stairs when the elevator doesn’t work.

But if Jesus asks me to do it again, I’ll gladly do it. For personal pleasure, no train rides!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Sweden in my Heart and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

