My Best Shoes

I’m not competing in any contest for beautiful shoes or for having most shoes. I heard that a former president of the Philippines had 2.000 shoes. With so many shoes you would have to wear 6 pairs a day to through them in a year`.

Mary, Dad’s wife, loves shoes. She has the solution. You get up and put one pair on. Then you go out in the morning with another pair. When you come back you put a third pair on. In the afternoon you go out with a different pair. You come back and have to do some gardening and wear yet another pair of shoes. And in the evening you put on the sixth one. Case solved!

When I grew up in South America I always had problems with shoes, because my feet were too big for the regular shoe sizes. There would only be a couple of pairs to pick from. Now, in my Golden Years, I can’t pick whatever shoes I want because of problems with my feet. But there is always a silver lining. I could have lost my feet. Praise God I still have them!

Let me show you the latest in my shoe department. I have four pairs with me—all therapeutic shoes. I have my sister Agneta to thank for recommending them to me. She also has problems with her feet, but not as severe as my condition.

I used to go to PayLess to get my shoes. I’d pay 10 to 15 dollars at the most for a pair. Now I have to add a zero and multiply. But they are worth every penny!

First Agneta recommended to me the MBT shoes. When I got those shoes it felt like I was walking on clouds. They are the “bouncy” type that has become popular in many brands. These are wonderful shoes for people with neuropathy! The draw-back is that they’re heavy.

MBT shoes

Then my sister recommended me shoes made by the son of the man who came up with the MBT shoes. These are similar in style but half as heavy, and very comfortable. The MBT’s I’ve bought in the United States but have not yet found these other ones. So I get them in Jönköping. They are JOYA shoes. A good name, as “Joya” means jewel in Spanish.

Joya shoes

As you can see that I can’t compete in a shoe-beauty contest. But looks is what matters the least. Comfortable shoes make the whole body feel good.

When Agneta asked me to get her the next kind of foot-wear I had to “run” (figure of speech; I cannot run these days) around town looking for them Finally, I found them at Kohl’s. Talk about something comfortable! But it takes time to get use to these ADIDAS. They are covered with little pegs that massage your feet.

Adidas shoes

Now I have a fourth pair. Those have magnets in strategic points and if you put them on right they warms your feet. I’ve been using them all during my stay in Sweden. They are JOBI sandals.

Jobi shoes

What can I say? If you have problems with your feet, invest in good shoes. The market is as saturated as the closet of Mrs. Gloria Arroyo from the Philippines.

You don’t have problems? Invest in good shoes anyway. Find what’s comfortable for you.

I know something comfortable that’s waiting for me. It’s been a long day. I finished a translation job for missionary friends. My sister doesn’t only help me with shoes; she also translates for me. We make quite a good team. Now she’s starting another guided tour in Peru. Read her Swedish blog at inkaresor.se.

I need to get some shut-eye. Tomorrow our missionary friend Lennart Lindgren is coming to pick us up for a trip to Värnamo to go to church there and then have dinner with him and Boyan at their house. Pictures will come next week.

Have a blessed Sunday!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Sweden in my Heart and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

