Sweden in my Heart 20

The count-down has started. I have only one whole day left with Dad and Mary. We didn’t get to go to Uppsala last weekend but we had a fun day on Sunday visiting our missionary friends Lennart and Boyan Lindgren in Värnamo. Here they are flanking Dad and Mary.

Lindgren Anderas

There is not very good transportation on Sundays. We wanted to go to church there in the morning, so the only option was to drive, but Dad has no car. Lennart was kind enough to come pick us up, a drive of 25 miles. Back and forth for him made it 50 miles. Gasoline here is expensive— 8 dollars a gallon! That was appreciated. It wasn’t a fun drive because of the rain.

Arken Varnamo

The church is called Arken—The Ark. The first weekend in November is always a holiday, celebrating All Saints Day. Many churches have big youth conferences, which there was here. More than 400 young people came to this church and had wonderful experiences with the Lord. The service we visited was for everybody but I saw mostly gray heads. The young people had their service in another area.

Arken Cross

I was sitting too far from the front to get good pictures, but the back-drop of the cross worked. It was a service about Heaven. A choir sang lots of songs about Heaven and the Children and Family Minister preached about Heaven. “Living with a Perspective of Heaven” was the message. We are born to live forever, so life is a preparation for Heaven.

View from Lingrens window

This is the view from the Lindgren’s living room window. To the right, half a block up, is the train station, so there was a short walk for us when it was time to take the train home in the afternoon after enjoying dinner and a pleasant visit.

They have a beautiful and spacious apartment. When the Lindgrens started their ministry in Lima, Peru in the seventies they had a small apartment, but even so they were very hospitable. And they opened their home to start the church in the living room. Anytime you came to see them there would always be people sitting on the couch, visiting. I wonder if they ever had any privacy! But the important part was that people got saved and found their way to Heaven!

I found some things in the apartment, lots of things, that reminded me of Peru. Here are a three.

Peru in my heart

Peru pot

Peru trio

Here is something that I collect—pictures of clocks!

colorful clock

And  here is something I don’t collect, but still beautiful!

egg cup

This is a Swedish egg cup. I remember from back in the day when we visited the Lindgrens. They would serve you oatmeal or a similar breakfast during the week, but on Sundays they always had eggs!

Have you ever had hard-boiled eggs with Swedish Kalles caviar? That’s good. Also, a hardtack with eggs and caviar is delicious.

Dinner

We had meat and potatoes and gravy and cauliflower and something I haven’t had since the days I ate Mom’s cooking. Cucumbers marinated in vinegar and sugar. It was very, very special for me. It might not sound good to you, but if you know just the right combination to make it, it’s delicious. Dessert was “smulpaj.” Let’s call that Apple Pie a la Suede.

Half and hours ride on the train brought us back to Vaggeryd. My sister’s husband, Ola, went to get us at the train station. It would have been close to impossible for me to walk the six blocks to the house.

Tomorrow I have to pack my bags. Here’s the plan! Ola takes the bags with him to work in Jönköping Thursday morning. I take the bus to Jönköping in the afternoon. He meets me at the station and we drive to Rävlanda. That’s close to the airport in Gothenburg. I stay over with some friends Agneta and Ola have made through their tours in Peru. They take Ola to the airport early Friday morning when he is flying to Lima, Peru to meet Agneta and some tourists who are already there. I spend the day with my computer and Crespo, the cat.

Have you read the story about Crespo? You can find it on my Royal Palm page: MX1414.wordpress.com

About four in the morning on Saturday it will be time to go to the airport, to fly with Berlin air to Berlin. Then overseas to Chicago and then to Springfield. By the time I arrive home it will have been a 23-24 hour travel.

God bless my trip home!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Sweden in my Heart and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

