From Captivity to Reigning Queen

Life has many surprises. One of the big surprises of the ages was for a Jewish orphan girl crowned queen over 127 provinces in the kingdom of Media and Persia.

Led away into exile by the troops of Nebuchadnezzar, King of Babylon, how could this girl ever hope for a bright future? We don’t know when she was orphaned, but we know that her cousin Mordecai adopted her as his own daughter.

Her story is found in a book in the Bible that bears her name. It’s the only book that does not mention the name of God, but you can see His handiwork through each of the pages of the 10 chapters.

Esther is a beautiful love-story of hope. It shows the courage of a young girl to put her life on the line to save her people.

Have I sparked your curiosity? I hope so! If you have never read this book, now is the time! If you have read it before, read it again. The Holy Spirit will speak to you with new insight.

I am going through the Book of Esther taking note of every detail. My friend Ximena in Bolivia and I are preparing lessons for Vacation Bible School. Ximena has already written the lessons but I have to gather information to do the activities. My friend Absalom in Costa Rica will do the artwork. My assistant Cristina will do just that, assist me, in the myriad of details that go into preparing a series of lessons. All of this in Spanish; in due time it will come in English.

Pray with me for wisdom and strength to get this project off on the right track and moving forward as the Holy Spirit would have us do.

Surprises? You never know what surprises life can bring your way. Keep an open mind.

A big surprise that met me when I came home from my trip is the winter blast that has hit the country. It’s supposed to be fall, but we have winter temperatures. My body doesn’t have to go outside to verify the temperature. My joints tell the story!

Praise God, the body doesn’t have to rule the soul! I catch myself sometimes saying, “I look like an old lady!” and then I remember that I am an old lady, at least in my grandchildren’s eyes. But I am young at heart.

Don’t let the circumstances rule your life. With God’s help, rise above them. Read the story of Esther and be inspired. Never could this little captive girl dream about ruling as queen in one of the greatest kingdoms of the time, maybe the greatest! But it happened. And she served God in her generation!

If you are one of the many enduring this early winter cold, let God’s sunshine warm your heart.

Have a SON-filled day!

Fall 2014

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

