Honoring my Mother

Brita AnderasBeautiful bride, Brita Anderas in March 1945

This day, my Mother would have turned 93. Her life was “A Life of Adventure”, as she and Dad have written in a book by that name. I will copy here one of the chapters, about the time she went horse-back riding, about the accident and the miracle.

If you would like to read about their missionary life, you can download it here:

A Life of Adventure by missionaries Per and Brita Anderas

Story from the time Mom and Dad were missionaries in Osorno, Chile  

Many members of the church lived out in the countryside and we held meetings in some of their homes. I always tried to go with Per when he went to visit and most of the time we had our children with us.

To one certain place we could not drive all the way, so we left the car at roads end and walked the rest. After the meeting a brother offered us horses to ride on to where the car was. Per liked that, and he quickly jumped up on the back of one of the horses. I had never ridden a horse before and therefore they gave me a horse that they told me was very tame. Well, once before I had been on horseback, but just to take a picture. When I was young I wished many times to learn how to ride a horse, but it was too expensive.

Now I had an opportunity and thought it was exciting. I left our little girl for somebody to carry and sat up on the horse. One man was going to show me how to hold the reins and at that moment I remembered that I had two eggs in a pocket and left them to him.

At once, and before I got hold of the reins, the horse spurted into a gallop and I tried to hold on as best I could. One of the brothers who had walked ahead saw my predicament. He ran to the middle of the track and managed to stop the horse, but in that same moment I fell and my back hit a rock.

A big commotion followed as people came running. Per turned around and came riding as fast as he could on his horse. My back hurt very much and I could barely get to the car with someone supporting me on each side. When we got home it was even worse to climb the fourteen steps of the stairway to our apartment. As soon as I got to bed I had shivers. Per prepared tea and he had to feed it to me. I couldn’t move my body or lift my head from the pillow. I was angry with myself and despaired for what had happened.

It was soon time for the evening service and Per was uncertain if he should go or stay with me. Our smallest girl was in bed and the others ready to go to the meeting. I told him he could do nothing better than to go to the meeting and pray for me.

There I lay paralyzed and completely stiff. Our bedroom was on top of the meeting place and I could hear everything that was going on. When they prayed I felt the power of God go through my body and I said, “In the name of Jesus” and started to move my left leg.

Little by little, as I moved, more power came over me and suddenly I jumped from the bed, completely healed. What a God we have! Powerful, wonderful!

Per felt that something had happened as they prayed and waited for me to come down but I was too lazy to get dressed again. Afterwards I repented deeply that I did not go down so that everyone could see what God had done.

We have a great God and he does miracles. I’ve seen it all my life. I’m a walking miracle myself. Six years ago I felt myself dying of cancer. But God healed me. And my mission is to proclaim His glory to the next generation.

May you experience the God of Miracles!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Miracles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

